We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the station, with fantastic service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
bridlington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Close to the station, with fantastic service.”
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel if you are visiting York on a budget. We arrived at 12.30, too early for check in, but Charlotte M immediately contacted housekeeping and found out our room was ready, so we got the keys straight away, she also asked if we were here for anything special (my birthday) and after a walk round the city(less than ten minutes away) I got back to discover a box of maltesers and a birthday card in the room from Charlotte and the premier Inn staff - What a lovely thought. As ever with Premier Inns the room was spotless and the bed comfortable, it is on a busy road, but the soundproofing is enough to guarantee a restful night, as they always promise. The bar is cosy and welcoming, but we chose not to eat there, as advised by an earlier reviewer, we took their advice and had breakfast at the wetherspoons pub across the road - nothing wrong with the food -its just half the price at the Windmill opposite. We will go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebudBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    599
    111
    24
    14
See reviews for
530
832
61
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We had a "Christmas Do" to attend in York and thought we would stay in town instead of travelling back and forth (round trip of 20 miles). We were met on arrival by Charlotte who asked all the usual questions of "have you stayed here before?" etc. She was extremely pleasant and courteous and I would even say a positive ambassador for the Premier Inn brand. I asked about an iron for use and she directed me to Guest Services at the end of our corridor on the 2nd floor.

The room itself was extremely well presented. The bathroom was spotless and the bedroom spacious enough for a couple to change and get ready for a function and make a cuppa! At this point I would suggest more that 2 teabags be allocated to a room.

We paid for breakfast which was an "all you can eat" buffet. The hot food was well prepared and very tasty. You could request freshly prepared poached or boiled eggs from the kitchen if wanted. The cold buffet was well stocked with yoghurs, fresh fruit, fruit compote etc and several fruit juices.

All in all a very pleasant overnight stay and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back as Blossom Street can be very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PearlandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed at Blossom St.South for a two night break, 3 Couples just to get away for a few days before Christmas. I have stayed at premier before but our friends hadn't, they were a little apprehensive but i told them to trust me.
They left the place two days later amazed at the value, friendliness, cleanliness and standard of food. It's quite near the centre, just a few minutes walk, Car parking is a couple of hundred yards away behind the Hotel, its an NCP but had a lockable garage unit so the cars were safe overnight, excellent at £9 per 24 hrs.
Rooms are always clean, modern and have everything you could want.
The biggest thing that stood out was the Staff, they must feed them happy pills, they were always smiling and friendly, this makes a massive difference to your stay.
There is a £22 Meal Deal that gets you 3 Courses, a Free Drink and all you can eat Breakfast, and for this you would expect an average Meal, it was exceptional, all nicely presented and excellent food. My friends had intended to eat out on the second night but chose to go back in the Restaurant, not for the value but because the food was so good.
Don't hesitate to stay here, we couldn't fault it at all.

Room Tip: Didn't seem to matter-even the front rooms on the roadside were not too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed here for two nights in the middle of December as we were watching the snooker at the Barbican Centre, and the Premier Inn was brilliant. The reception and bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was quality: big, clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We got fresh towels each morning, beds were made impeccably and there was minimum amount of noise when we slept. For the price we paid (£80 a night) I could not praise this hotel any higher. It's situated a few minutes walk from the train station, and there is three restaurants (two which were Weatherspoons) within 2 minutes walking from the hotel. There is also a taxi rank round the corner. A strip of bars and clubs is within 10 minutes too and has a lively nightlife! I've stayed in a few Premier Inn's now and they are by far the best value for money compared to Travelodges. I reccommend this highly, STAY HERE !!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeySAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

It's odd that these two Premiers are almost next door to each other, but I've now worked out that Blossom Street South is the newer one. It scores over its twin in that respect and also that the restaurant is integrated into the building, whereas in B.S. North you have to exit the building to get to it. Otherwise, it's typical of the newer Premiers, immaculately maintained and staffed by helpful and well-trained people. The restaurant is more spacious than in some of the other PIs I've visited; cooked breakfast was very good.Electronic check-in is very simple; as I've said before, if I can do it ...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairfax09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

What on earth can I say about this wonderful Premier inn that hasn't been said before? I have just returned from a girly stay with five friends to celebrate a fiftieth birthday. Every single member of staff was friendly and so accommodating.

A very special thanks is due to Emme and Charlotte n reception who put up with our drunken requests for ice and glasses and plates for our room. You girls made our night.

The restaurant staff were wonderful and did their best to fit us in at the last minute.

Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extra_strong_mint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have just returned from a short trip to York. We selected to stay at premier inn , blossom street south as we have stayed there several times before. The service has always been very good, but this time we would say the service was excellent. The staff go out of their way to help making us feel as if we are important. A special thank you to Charlotte who sorted out a tricky problem with taxi's for our relations.
Our rooms were comfortable and clean, the beds made for a very good nights sleep.
The hotel is perfect for exploring York City Centre and ideal for shopping.
The food in the restaurant is very good, we always eat there when we stay. The staff this time arranged for us to have an alcove because of the concern of one of our older guests. I asked for christmas crackers for the table and not only did they provide them they decorated the table too. What a kind thought. Overall a great stay, we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Address: 28-40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in York
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of York close to Clifford’s Tower, the memorial gardens and the city walls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing