We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very pleased we chose this hotel. Very convenient for train station and walking distance to all the main attractions. Room clean and comfortable and restaurant food fine for the price we paid as part of meal deal - dinner and breakfast. All the staff were friendly and helpful - particularly the two ladies on reception. Special thanks to reception and housekeeping who found two cherished teddies left behind by my daughter and kindly sent them on, arriving the next day. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

When we arrived there was a long queue for checking in, that's OK we thought, we'll use the fast check in machines, but they were both broken. So we queued, for 45 minutes. The next morning we went down to breakfast at 8.15. Unfortunately there was another queue. We queued for breakfast for 55 minutes, with 2 children, it was not pleasant. The staff were few and far between, and did their best under difficult circumstances, but it marred our stay at this Premier Inn. We concluded they were not equipped to deal with half term capacity. Inadequate.

Room Tip: My tip for families: avoid the school holidays, unless you like queueing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Fab rooms. Close to station. Comfy, quiet, great brekkie. Everything we needed at a great book ahead price deal. Will come again as we love York and after walking miles premier inn was the perfect place to rest !
Very busy so i would defo book well ahead as we did

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cawkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

always really enjoyed staying at this premier inn good location to the city centre , but on our last visit we were slightly dissapointed , all the self service desks were out of order , and only one person was doing the checking in and a lot of people were waiting to check in. had allready rung a head and asked for extre towels and pillows no problem i was told !!!!! got to the room did not even have enough towels for one person let alone extra , the phones have been removed from the rooms now so i had to go back down and wait in the long line a again , this time he said sorry did i not give you the phone number you need to use your mobile and ring us !!!!!!!! asked ror a quiet room which it was very noisy from out side , and wanted to take some food to our room again had to go to restaurand and wait till it was ready and bring it back minus any knifes and forks . heating not on even tho it was very cold but did get a mobile heated when rang once again . Its only little things but not the same as before .

Room Tip: ask for one not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We always stay at Premier Inns and were not disappointed at this one. Good staff, brilliant location and discounted parking another plus. Great breakfast, good value for family and would happily stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed in a Family room..2 nights..28/29 Oct.....spotless,very comfy double bed and grandkids loved their single beds.Wife wasn't feeling well when we got there and went straight to bed,ALL the staff were fantastic,they were so caring and helpful and nothing was to much to ask for....special thank you to Mennat on Reception.Great breakfast..lovely restaurant and in an ideal location just off Micklegate.Will definately be returning to York and Premiers Blossom St.South...a 5star stay without a 5star price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane_ashton40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for two nights, unfortunately as they were full we had a disabled room 124, which was next to the stairs. We could hear people up and down from early as 6.30am also doors being closed noisily including by the staff. There were a group of children 9as part of a competition in the city?) staying who were noisy and one morning left cheerios on the carpet for others to walk on. We also had a fire alarm at 11.30 9so we had to get up and out, rightly so!!)- so that was the 'good night guarantee' out the window, they put a letter in the morning explaining what It was ( steam from the shower) and making sure it didn't happen again. We felt it was to cover themselves. We challenged in the morning especially as we had the other noise, the lay did put up an argument etc but did refund one night's stay. We like premiere inns a lot, I just think this one needs to get its act together. Original reception staff -Emme very helpful but not everyone. Shame.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,385 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel

Address: 28-40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#2 Family Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £57 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of York close to Clifford’s Tower, the memorial gardens and the city walls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing