We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the blossom street south firstly no parking for that hotel there are a few spaces in the sister hotel , we ran to the hotel in a hail storm for a drink before heading into York posters every where 30 mins free wifi nope nothing asked a realm y nice lad behind the bar he advised he would speak to a manager to re- boot it still not working so we checked into our family room seemed ok a little cold but just cranked up the heating and had a shower went out for the evening ghost walk so on returning cold and wet again we just went the bar got a couple of drinks and hot chocs for the kids Not a very friendly bar in the evening a big burly security guard grunting to himself so off we went to bed about 4am I was awake and sat on my daughters bed to find out there was no mattress on it no phone in the room to complain so on check out I mentioned it to be told by some teenager basically it's tough as its standard it ain't standard we stayed in heathrow in lovely comfy beds

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickyhunter20Alton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Well positioned for the attractions of the centre of town. Masses of great places to eat and drink close by. Room well spacious, clean and bed so comfy I got the staff to give me details of make and so on as I might want to get one at home. Not troubled by noise at all and staff really helpful and friendly whilst staying professional.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bishopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very handy for the train station. Clean and comfortable rooms and polite and helpful staff. Didn't eat at the hotel as there is a Weatherspoons across the road for a better value breakfast and lots of restaurants and cafés within walking distance. Would stay here again and would recommend it for a good value break in York

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Premier Inn Blossom Street South in York for two nights. The hotel was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Emme and Jackie deserve a special mention for being so helpful with changing lightbulbs and sorting out the wifi when it wouldn’t connect.

We would not recommend the Table Table restaurant, the Longboat which is adjacent to the hotel. We arrived for dinner on the first night of our stay having booked the Meal Deal after looking at the menu for Table Table restaurants available online. To our surprise the menu available in the restaurant was quite limited compared to the online version. Despite our disappointment that the meals we were going to order were not available we ordered off the menu available in the restaurant. The prawn cocktail came with three heaped tablespoons of mayonnaise “dolloped” on top (not the most appetising) and the calamari looked and tasted as if it had been boiled in oil. Next course was the bacon and cheese topped chicken breast which was edible and an 8oz steak ordered medium rare with peppercorn sauce. The steak was raw and ‘as tough as old boots’ i.e. inedible. The steak was sent back and another one brought to us which was medium rare (as requested) and edible, by this point the chips were cold. Dessert was next. We suspect that the dessert had been waiting for us since the first mains had been sent out. The warm chocolate brownie was COLD and the chocolate and honeycomb explosion looked like it was dying a sad sinking death as the chocolate sauce had run almost to the bottom of the outside of the glass, the cream has sunk completely and it was MISSING the chocolate topped popping candy (this had swayed my decision for the dessert). Thomas had been relatively polite in dealing with our requests (we understand that the standard of the food was down to the chef) however, imagine our surprise when we went to pay for the peppercorn sauce and at first we were told that the tills were ‘off’ we offered to pay the next day but were told that we couldn’t. Thomas then asked ‘do we mind not receiving our change?’ Needless to say after everything we encountered we waited 15 minutes for our change.

Breakfast was ok, but we would recommend going out for breakfast as there are lots of nice restaurants and cafes in the vicinity.

All in all the hotel was lovely and we would stay again but if we do we won’t be eating at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roadtoad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Premier Inn needs more staff and the rooms are looking a bit tired and uninviting. But dinner surprisingly good and beds excellent as always! Breakfast had no bacon which was odd - but all in all good value and a good nights stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank TimJMein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked here on basis of a £29pn deal for two nights midweek. Hotel is very conveinient for walking to and from city attractions. Clean, bright and modern interior. We had a room on 2nd floor overlooking front main street and never heard any exterior traffic noise at all. Room was large (double) and looked like it could be used as a joining family room as there was a locked door inside, but this caused no problem - heard a bit of 'tv' noise from next door in early hours but wasn't irritating. I found it slightly cool in the room and although you are able to control the heating via a electronic thermostat, I struggled to 'maintain' a nice temp - either too cold or too warm and the heating system was a little noisy to be honest but I am a very light sleeper. Had a lovely hot, deep bath which fills up very quickly. hand wash dispenser was broken or empty by the sink but just used the shower gel one which was fine. Bathroom was clean - as was everywhere else. Staff on check in were cheery, smiley, attentive and seemed generally pleased to chat with us which is always nice! The girls on duty asked if we'd like breakfast and although i'm sure the premier inn breakfast (served in the TableTable resteraunt would be nice, we opted to have breakfast in the Wetherspoons literally across the road for half the price. We did have two evening meals at the Longboat and found it great as always with nice staff (this really warrants a separate trip advisor report for the resteraunt) The staff were helpful with the car parking which for here you have to use a NCP behind the hotel however you are entitled to a 20% discount while staying here - as long as you leave your car for the duration. Just one niggle - were arrived back one night and found our key card wouldn't work in any of the doors - went back to reception to say and the lady, smiling, said "You've had it in your pocket next to your phone haven't you!" Apparently your phone can wipe the magnetic strip and render it useless - not a problem, it was quickly re-done and all worked fine again. To sum up - great stay, great location, great price and would certainly visit again and also recommend. Well done Premier Inn and Staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beefycheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

As a regular user of Premier Inns I can report that some are better than others. Happily, York Blossom Street South is one of the best!

The booking was followed by a courtesy e-mail explaining check in times, car park arrangements and so on. This was also followed by a phone call. I was asked if the visit was for a special occasion. I said it was my wife's birthday weekend.

On arrival we found the room had been decorated with party poppers, balloons, a birthday card, and chocolates! They even put balloons on our table at the adjacent restaurant! Simple touches that make a big difference and my wife was delighted!

Full marks to the staff at York Blossom Street South. Look forward to visiting again

Room Tip: My wife is disabled and ideally needs a ground floor room so as to avoid stairs. There are only 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackcountryvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,382 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel

Address: 28-40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#2 Family Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £59 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of York close to Clifford’s Tower, the memorial gardens and the city walls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing