We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Premier Inn in York was the first hotel that we stayed in after landing at the Manchester Airport. We had two suitcases and a set of golf clubs that we wrangled on and off the train. It was an easy five minute walk from the train to the hotel, so no need to hire a taxi. The staff was very accommodating with storing our bags and getting us into a room a little early because we were so jetlagged. It isn't a fancy place, but it was clean and comfortable and everything in town was easily accessible. Our window was on the street, but the noise did not bother us at night with the window closed. Having air conditioning was a great bonus because of that. I wasn't too impressed with the breakfast though, and after one morning of that we chose to eat at a little place a few doors down that was great and at better prices. Security was the best of any hotel that we stayed in. Loved York!

Room Tip: Try to get a room off of the street, but if that's all they have, don't worry, it should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BeeceeBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location of the hotel near the station, with parking and next to one of the city gates makes it ideal. The rooms where clean and well maintained. The reception was friendly, even though they where busy. The breakfast was fresh, with plenty of space for a family of six to be able to site together.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCFMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Car park is a pain and expensive, and we wasted time trying to pay for car parking due to staff not being particularly helpful or switched on. But its a good location, easy to get onto the City Walls and into the centre. Highly recommend the cafe at Convent opposite for breakfast. Room was clean, in pretty good condition, everything worked and beds were comfortable. Not bad value compared to equivalent places in York.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this as it is close to the station and we were arriving by train. An easy 10 minute walk into Central York and you can even go via the old city walls. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is pretty good although a little disorganised at busy times. Staff all friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again next time we're in York.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tjackso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, friendly staff and convenient location. Thoroughly pleasurable stay! Hotel is annexed into various pockets however this adds a bit more character to the place. Breakfast was good value too with the kids eat free offer, good selection of hot and cold and bespoke items as requested.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my 3 boys, we had a kingsize bed and 2 singles. Reception staff were lovely and friendly. Hotel was clean and quiet. We travelled by train and the hotel was within walking distance. This hotel is in a fabulous location just outside the city walls, it took about 10 mins to walk into town, everything was within easy reach. Breakfast was just amazing, so much to choose from, especially love the Costa Coffee! One of my sons is gluten intolerant and the hotel provided him with gluten free bread. A lovely waitress brought us a list of nutritional information showing us what contained gluten, I just wish I knew her name, she was so accommodating every morning.

Overall we had a great time and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 18choco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A warm reception and a detailed review of the hotel on arrival The rooms are small but very clean and we had a fan as the weather was very humid. Perhapd air con would have been better. Breakfast was in the adjoining sister hotel and was excellent. We also ate in the hotel jn the evening and this was also very good. The grandkids ate free for their breakfast andthey really amde the ost of this!! Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor so there was no view and was quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel

Address: 28-40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#2 Family Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £56 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of York close to Clifford’s Tower, the memorial gardens and the city walls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing