We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand what people are moaning about”
Review of The Watergate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Watergate Inn
Ranked #160 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't understand what people are moaning about”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Location perfect,the room was basic but clean. At £120 for a double room with free parking for two nights, you carn't complainant the price. It was cheaper than the travel lodge. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ilikezot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    52
    38
    28
    35
See reviews for
25
85
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I overpaid due to the barman not recognising I had paid £40 by card when booking. The room was not cleaned in the week I stayed(bin overflowing) and I had to ask for some milk cartons for tea and coffee. The fire alarm went off at 5am one morning and twice when returning in the afternoon the TV was on though I had switched it off when going out in the morning. Perhaps it was the Green Lady reputed to haunt the pub! Bedding and towels OK, bathroom OK.

If basic and relatively cheap is OK then 5 Lions wins, taking location into acount.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAvid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Ajax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Well it is still location, location...BUT....the property has slid down hill. Room 5 was dirty, the halls were dirty, there was mould and dirt in the bathroom, wall covering hanging from the walls and more. This is really a shame because it would take very little to bring the place back. The heaviest toll would be effort that is obviously missing.

Room Tip: Look at the room offered nfirst
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HERB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winteringham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the 5 Lions 16th June to go to York Races. It's location is fabulous, plenty of bars, restuarants an pubs close by. I am not aware what their normal rates are, but we were charged £40 each for room only. The room was fairly clean, the bathroom not so. Room very small and very dated. There was no room on the coffee/tea tray for the kettle so it was on the one bedside table, literally next to your head. The shower cubicle was that small we didn't bother to shower, no sort of dressing table to put makeup on, had to put wash/make-up bag on the loo seat! We assumed we paid a premium due to the races, we couldn't get in anywhere else unless we booked 2 nights, so it served a purpose. Could not recommend it and would not stay again. £80 for a bed for the night was excessive for what we got.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you pay a lot less than we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHenry1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Last week I booked three rooms for this hotel and am now a little concerned with the reviews I have read. I'd it really that bad and can anyone give me any plus points about the five lions.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie8211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prudhoe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed for one night in the double and twin room, the place is very run down but all we wanted was a bed for the night and can't fault the place for that as the beds were clean and comfy. The staff were lovely and had no problems with them at all, found them very welcoming and the locals too. We were a bunch of 6 women staying, I would recommend this place to anyone as long as you don't expect luxury but the location is perfect, the price wasn't too bad even though you don't get breakfast, we did have a bbq though :) We would definitely stay again.
P.S my 'poor' rating is for the state of the rooms not for the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

only 1 plus point about this hotel/pub its ideally located for central york.
for £70 a night in a damp run down room you would at least expect a brekkie,not even a we hope you enjoyed your stay in york on leave but just had to push room keys through letter box.
NOT recommended for a romantic weekend away.
would have great potential with better management no doubt.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foreverpools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#172 of 192 in York
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peter Warehouse
Peter Warehouse
#39 of 51 in York
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#46 of 192 in York
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint George's Keep
Saint George's Keep
#17 of 51 in York
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#44 of 192 in York
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watergate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watergate Inn

Property: The Watergate Inn
Address: 24 Walmgate, York YO1 9TJ, England (Formerly Five Lions Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Watergate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing