We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of The Watergate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Watergate Inn
Ranked #129 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My partner and i recently stayed at the Five Lions pub in Walmgate and we were slightly worried about what we would find after reading some of the reviews however we were pleasently suprised. The car park was quite difficult to find at first but we called the pub and a member of staff gave us directions which was very helpful. We went to the bar got our keys and they checked us in straight away, even though the the bar seemed rather busy the bar staff made us priorty.

Once in our room we found it clean and tidy and they had put the heating on ready for our arrival which was a blessing as it was rather cold. One small criticism would be a little more care when putting out the towels they seemed a bit rushed like just thrown on the bed, but really cant grumble about that would just think it would make it look a bit smarter for a first impression.

The room was suprisingly large and the shower got nice and hot, however dont forget to bring your own shower gel etc as there were no creature comforts for you to use in the bathroom. Tea, coffee, milk and sugar sachets however were provided which is good.

The bed covers looked a bit worn but were smelling fresh and the bed was comfortable so this didnt bother us.

We choose the Five lions for its location more than anything else. Its perfect city centre, car park right outside our room door and as a bonus there was a live band in the pub which we throughly enjoyed watching all evening. The small pub has a cosy atmosphere and the beer was good and cheaper than anywhere else we have been in York.

We meet some friends in there and enjoyed the christmas Menu for our dinner. Brilliant value for money only £5 for anything on the specials board! The food was made there and then no microwave heated rubbish and the chef popped over to make sure we were enjoying it too, nice touch! Our friends who stayed in a travel lodge around the corner said next time they would stay in the pub for the covenience of everything. You dont really need to move off the street, there are clothes shops, gadget/trinket shops, a little tesco a few pubs and even a nice little cafe on the corner. Perfect for a little weekend break!

After speaking with the bar staff we found out that we could buy a voucher for a breakfast at the cafe on the corner "The Sitting Pig" which was open early which was ideal as we needed to get off the next day and couldnt wait around for them to start doing lunch.

Overall we hit the sack before the music ended but was suprised to say we werent distrubed.

I would definatly recommend staying at the Five Lions it is ideal for a weekend away, we were so close to everything and didnt need to worry about parking. We have already organised a weekend for us to go back and will be bringing our friends. Its not posh its practical and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms that have access from the car park are ideal if you are a smoker as you dont have to go do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LALA140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    50
    33
    26
    29
See reviews for
23
81
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I stayed here on December the 1st,
The room was worn looking and the carpet stained,I ysed this Pub on my own so not to bad,But i would not reccomend it for couples
However it did have a good ahower on suite.
Alot of noise from the bar untill after midnight

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Chester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I should have known when this place had rooms and everywhere else in York was full for for the Xmas market, there was a reason. Room 7 has the worst bed I have ever NOT slept in. The mattress is older then the pub!! Room was basic and cold. £75.00 isn't that cheap for 1 night with no breakfast. The rooms aren't in the pub but an attached annex building with poor locks on the outside and the bedroom doors. The only good thing is the car park and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChesterMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We were greeted by a rude barmaid who looked us up and down before telling us bluntly that our room 'isn't ready yet' and there is nowhere to leave our bags beforehand. She certainly was not interested in making us feel welcome. Our room was small and dirty with stains on the carpet and wall. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed properly and behind furniture was thick with dust. Thankfully the bed seemed clean enough. The bathroom was filthy with black mould in the corners of the shower and flooring . I wouldn't dream of using the shower! The toilet seat needed replacing. On the plus side the location was ideal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minfika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just returned from a one night break at the Five Lions in York. As 3 girls aged between 22 and 24 we were only looking for somewhere with a central location at a reasonable price. This is exactly what we got. When we arrived we were shown to our room by a lady who obviously hadnt been on a customer service class! She threw our keys on the floor and told us she would see us later! The room was alot bigger than we thought, it had a double bed and two singles. There was a kettle with tea and coffee available. The bathroom was quite grotty but the shower had boiling water and was a decent size. We got towels however I would say to take your own as they did look like they had been around a while! The pub downstairs was cheap and the barman was friendly enough telling us the best places to go. Its less than a 10 minute walk from all of the shops and York nightlife. The notice in the room said you had to check out by 10 in the morning however we went and had a quiet word with the cleaner and she said she would clean our room last so we didnt have to leave until half past 11. As our train wasnt until 6 that night she kept our bags locked away untill then. Well worth pushing your luck! Would definatley stay here with the girls for a drunken weekend away again but if your looking for a classy weekend you should go elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Location perfect,the room was basic but clean. At £120 for a double room with free parking for two nights, you carn't complainant the price. It was cheaper than the travel lodge. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ilikezot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I overpaid due to the barman not recognising I had paid £40 by card when booking. The room was not cleaned in the week I stayed(bin overflowing) and I had to ask for some milk cartons for tea and coffee. The fire alarm went off at 5am one morning and twice when returning in the afternoon the TV was on though I had switched it off when going out in the morning. Perhaps it was the Green Lady reputed to haunt the pub! Bedding and towels OK, bathroom OK.

If basic and relatively cheap is OK then 5 Lions wins, taking location into acount.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAvid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peter Warehouse
Peter Warehouse
#38 of 50 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#171 of 193 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint George's Keep
Saint George's Keep
#17 of 50 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watergate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watergate Inn

Property: The Watergate Inn
Address: 24 Walmgate, York YO1 9TJ, England (Formerly Five Lions Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Watergate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing