We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location close to everything and suited my business needs”
Review of The Watergate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Watergate Inn
Ranked #167 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed in the 5 Lions for 2 nights and the staff were very helpful with storing my case (both when I arrived early and on my last day when I was off on business in the city and returned in the evening to collect my case). I didn't need any of the car park spaces but it was ideally located near many bus stops.

The cooked breakfast on Saturday was delicious - pity it wasn't available on other days of the week as well.

It was cheaper than other B&Bs I enquired with in York but it was still dearer than other tourist hot spot accommodation I've stayed at in other locations around England.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

When we arrived the nine of us were welcomed into the hotel by Sarah who made us welcome from start to finish on our trip to York.

The rooms were all ready for us in a timely fashion and very clean and tidy, with York City Centre on the doorstep, you were close to all amenities

Every one of our group members commented on how clean and presentable the rooms where and loved the breakfast in the mornings, so much so we are going to be making a return trip next year.

Credit must go to all the staff working in the hotel that from start to finish never stopped to make our stay a pleasant one, reflected in the fact we will be returning sooner rather than later.

In summary a friendly, clean, well situated place to stay, close to all local amenities with breakfast included and with a price to reflect this truly amazing oasis in the middle of York.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a single room but with a Queen size bed in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bry149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We were greeted with friendly smiles when we checked in to the five lions hotel. The rooms were clean and well set out, and had everything you could want from a budget hotel. Car parking is included in the price with permmision granted to stay a bit longer on the day of departure, a bonus considering its position.
Beds were comfy, breakfast was good, although we did have to wait quite some time for breakfast, I think this is because of the late start 09.30, everyone arrived at once.
One downside, the shower in our room was just a trickle, but apart from that we really enjoyed our stay.
The strong ale in the pub gave me a headache, but it soon wore off when I had another one.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Don't listen to the bad reviews...this hotel was very clean,the staff we're very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was one of the best we have had at any hotel.the location couldn't be any better,rooms are a bit basic but clean...the only downside I could fault it with was the shower could have been a bit more powerful

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I booked this owner-run hotel for a night in York to follow on from a friend's party at another location within walking distance. We really appreciated the free parking, even though York traffic congestion is so bad it took us on a late Saturday morning ¾hour to get from the 30 mph limit boundary to the hotel - it can't have been more than 4 miles.

The hotel is more like an Inn, but no worse for that. Our room was in a converted stable block and quite narrow - not as narrow as a horse loose box but nearly - but otherwise comfortable, and clean. Breakfast was satisfactory. The price at £80 was not cheap but this is York. Service was efficient and friendly, which counts for a lot. We'd stay there again - York has so much to offer and at the Five Lions you are right in the centre of it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger-of-the-Raj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Me and 4 girls stayed in the five lions pub for a night away and we were happy with the location of the hotel, the spacious rooms and cleanliness. The only problem we did have was the entrance on arrival, we weren't bothered that we were staying in a pub however the landlord that took us up to the room made us feel uncomfortable as she said to the locals 'what are they doing in here' it made us feel very unwelcomed.
Apart from that we enjoyed the stay and would go back again. Great for a night out and cheap bookings.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Clozzatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Checked in at the Five Lions over the weekend for a stag do with 5 other lads. The best man had left things a little on the late side so remaining York hotel options were expensive. Then he chanced upon the Five Lions which met the budget. However, reading the reviews on here we weren't expecting much except ofcourse for the brilliant location. However, when we got there we were greeted with smiling faces and complimentary tea/orange and biscuits. Infact more biscuits kept appearing throughout our stay! Our rooms were prepared early for us so we could get changed before heading out. they were clean, warm and we all slept soundly when we eventually got back from the lash. The bar was staffed by a hat-trick of bubbly young very attractive barmaids who were friendly and a great laugh the whole time. The next day they were happy to laugh at us in our sorry states and have a bit of banter! Overall a fantastic stay. Special mentions go to Laura and Katie. Cheers girls!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acktion_force
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.6 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peter Warehouse
Peter Warehouse
#43 of 55 in York
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waggon & Horses
Waggon & Horses
#36 of 194 in York
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#169 of 194 in York
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watergate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watergate Inn

Address: 24 Walmgate, York YO1 9TJ, England (Formerly Five Lions Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £62 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Watergate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing