We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Watergate Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel 53(York)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (248)
    Filter reviews
    248 results
    Traveller rating
    65
    59
    46
    35
    43
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    65
    59
    46
    35
    43
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsfree parkingbeer gardenmassive bonuscentral locationdefinately stay herewe arrived earlyfriendly welcomesingle roomstayed here for two nightsone night staytea and coffeebiscuitstown centrefew minutes walkfull english breakfastvisiting yorkcooked breakfast
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    194 - 199 of 248 reviews
    Reviewed 30 March 2014

    Very Friendly Staff,Central location,i stayed at The Five Lions York for 1 night with 3 friends we had room number 2 with no complaints,large room lots of mirrors, plug sockets,shower small but served the purpose ,very clean,free parking at rear of property,lovely breakfast,will definetly stay here again,

    Room Tip: all i can say is we had room number 2 with no complaints
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Rooms
    1  Thank ryano1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 March 2014

    2 night stay room was good and a great breakfast free parking location is city center walk to all the bars restaurants shopping walmgate fossgate seems to be the place for restaurants we eat at the sitting pig just across the road very good

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank sean w
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

    Stayed for 3 nights & had no problems.
    Rooms are very basic - bed, wardrobe & drawers. Good heating & Small en-suite.
    We stayed in a downstairs room directly off the car park which was a bit noisy as they had the bar music piped outside but it was bearable.
    I did feel a bit uneasy about the access as anyone could walk straight past the bar to the rooms.
    They do advertise as being good for hen/stag nights so that should be enough to help your judgement.


    • Stayed: January 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Lorry1965
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 January 2014

    Stayed here with my wife while having a night out on the town with friends. Room was small, a bit dated but clean enough. Staff were pretty friendly and really I couldn't fault them.
    The pry bar marks on the door frame had me a bit worried but we decided to stay anyway.

    The issue is that many of the rooms are accessed individually from the car park / beer garden area, which is not secured at night, so anyone could be wandering around in the dark.

    We came back to the door to our room to find a guy sitting on the door step. As we approached he got up out of the way without saying anything and I proceeded to unlock the door.

    Luckily my wife is observant and as we entered the room she noticed the guy running towards us. Thankfully we managed to get the door part way shut before he got to us, but he did manage to get his foot and arm in around the door. He continued to try and force his way in while we held the door shut. After a minute or so he retracted his arm and leg and we managed to get the door shut and locked.
    He continued to kick at the door for a while before running off when other guests came to investigate.

    Thankfully I am quite a large bloke so I didn't have to much trouble keeping him out. But I don't know what would have happened if my wife was on her own. Doesn't really bear thinking about.

    Next morning the staff tried to brush it off by saying it was another guest who simply had the wrong room!

    Local friends have all said that the Five Lions was a pretty rough pub, looks like it is still struggling to shake off that reputation.

    Room Tip: Go for a room inside the main pub rather than one of the rooms off the car park.
    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Chris H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

    Just arrived home after staying one night and couldn't really fault anything about stay . Friendly clean and warm room on arrival room 10 . Location great . Breakfast was as good as in some 3 star hotels we have stayed in . Parking included in price . Those who have wrote bad review can't understand why . Overall a lovely stay only thing is need a light outside accommodation entrances a bit dark when returning at night .

    • Stayed: December 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank k_smith2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews