We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant no frills b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heidi's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #113 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Hiedi,s b&b is a no frills exactly what it says on the tin sort of place. There are three rooms two of which are quite small. Our room was small but cosy. The bedding was clean and the bathroom also. A chrome rail between the chimney breast was the makeshift wardrobe, below this was a small drawer unit not for use as it is home to the hairdryer, brochures etc. A tray with tea making facilities sits on top of this unit. The bathroom is quite modern with a nice shower cubicle, the toilet unfortunately is very noise when flushed, if used during the night I expect the other residents may be disturbed. The bed was quite spacious and firm. Breakfast was a small glass of orange juice followed by what ever was ordered on the previous evening, a nice selection. Hiedi was a perfect host. We would stay here again as its all you need for a short visit to York

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensei40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Very welcoming b&b, spotless, tasteful and comfortable. 10 minute pleasant walk from Clifford's tower and city centre. Fantastic service. Quiet location but close to all amenities and main roads. Would absolutely stay again without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swatson125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during our first ever visit to York. The room was warm and comfortable(despite the freezing weather outside). Breakfast was excellent and our hosts very friendly and helpful.We were offered (and gratefully accepted) lots of useful local information and advice. We will stay here again when we next visit York.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

On our arrival the heating had not been turned on and our room was freezing. There was no wardrobe so we had to hang all our clothes on a hat stand!! I thought the double room was very overpriced. It was very small with two very narrow beds and very thin mattresses. The ensuite bathroom was also tiny. Breakfast was not great, with little choice- no fruit on the side to choose from which surprised me and the cheapest bread and sausages used.
On our last day we were told that the latest breakfast that could be served was 9.30am, whereas the day before it was at 10.00- strange! Then we HAD to be out by 10.00am. This was unacceptably early; most B & Bs have a checkout time of 11.00am. 10.00am is totally unreasonable. I wasn't out by 10.00 and so the landlady- ,Heidi, was very rude, telling me t, ''out you go, you've messed me around enough lady...'' I was very shocked and annoyed as my friend and I had paid £80 + for 2 nights. I have never met such an inflexible or hardfaced hostess before. I left quite upset. Don't go there- you can do better.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here just for one night and it was just what we were after . Clean room and bathroom , nice host and a great breakfast in the morning (Pancakes !)

Room wasn't massive but wasn't really bothered as it was only somewhere to crash .

Only other gripe was the towels were a bit rough and like cardboard .

I'd stay again if in York .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickNoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have stayed at several places in York,but this is head and shoulders above the rest! Very friendly, welcoming staff, clean, comfortable and not far from the city. Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Even the small room wasn't too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Spent two very comfortable nights at Heidi's in a very spacious room with a huge big bed. Room was tastefully decorated, very modern and clean and had a fantastic shower! Enjoyed a delicious breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere, having every need catered too. The family were lovely, could not do enough for you. Would definitely stay here again and would certainly recommend this delightful B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#95 of 194 in York
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#53 of 194 in York
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#58 of 194 in York
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#119 of 194 in York
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 112 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidi's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Hotel York
Heidi`s Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing