We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heidi's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #115 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is an excellent B&B, providing good value for money, comfort, convenience and a warm friendly welcome. It is very convenient for the city centre being a 15-20 minute stroll into the centre of York. It is also great for going to York (Knavesmere) racecourse. We were able to park right outside the B&B using the resident permit provided and walk the 10 minutes to the racecourse for a great day out. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped - including facilities for making drinks and even an iron. The nice little en suite was clean and newly fitted out and the shower was powerful. But probably the best thing is the breakfast which was fantastic - all cooked by Heidi and included her speciality which is home made pancakes - I had two which was just greedy but they were irresistible!! We also had home made strawberry jam. This is a lovely family run B&B and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the front has the best view. We had Room two at the back which is fine for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieanddavidmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

we stayed at Heidis B&B in york for a 3 night stay. Very friendly welcome Lovely clean room. breakfast was lovely & the pancakes yummy. Heidi & Greg couldn't do enough for you. York was only a short 10 minuite walk to all the main attractions.We will be back for another stay this time bringing more family members.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very practical place, literally 10 minutes walk from the city center in a quiet road.
Small room for small charge. Very good breakfast, lovely owners (we met the entire family, all with a smile happy to greet you and have a little chat).
The landlady was very helpful, the bed is comfortable, the room clean.
You'll get all the basics, no frills.
The only odd bit: the bathroom en suite without a door! True we booked the small room but a curtain or a french door would do.
However I'll happily use it again if I am back to York.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarabach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. Heidi and Greg were very helpful and friendly. We had lovely breakfasts especially the pancakes! The room was clean and had a lovely en suite with a really good shower. It was only a short walk away from all the major attractions. Parking was directly outside which was very good as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Other reviews will say the double room is very small. It is. However the size of the room is of little consequence when you are asleep. The stay was booked at very short notice, the night before. It was more than adequate for the job. I would prefer a bigger room but what the hell?
Heidi and her husband have to be one of the most amenable couples running a b and b I have ever come across. The breakfast is absolutely fine. Parking is easy. Directly outside the premises on the road for which a pass is provided by Heidi.
Located some ten minutes or so from the centre there's not much else to say about it.
Would I stay here again? Yes, but I'd probably book the larger room for a couple of quid more.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeromeozeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Hiedi,s b&b is a no frills exactly what it says on the tin sort of place. There are three rooms two of which are quite small. Our room was small but cosy. The bedding was clean and the bathroom also. A chrome rail between the chimney breast was the makeshift wardrobe, below this was a small drawer unit not for use as it is home to the hairdryer, brochures etc. A tray with tea making facilities sits on top of this unit. The bathroom is quite modern with a nice shower cubicle, the toilet unfortunately is very noise when flushed, if used during the night I expect the other residents may be disturbed. The bed was quite spacious and firm. Breakfast was a small glass of orange juice followed by what ever was ordered on the previous evening, a nice selection. Hiedi was a perfect host. We would stay here again as its all you need for a short visit to York

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensei40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Very welcoming b&b, spotless, tasteful and comfortable. 10 minute pleasant walk from Clifford's tower and city centre. Fantastic service. Quiet location but close to all amenities and main roads. Would absolutely stay again without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swatson125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 112 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidi's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Hotel York
Heidi`s Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing