We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intresting”

York Cold War Bunker
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$48.99*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #9 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the threat of nuclear war at York Cold War Bunker! On a fascinating guided tour, learn how volunteers would have played a vital role in ensuring that Britain could survive a nuclear attack. The atmospheric 1960s semi-subterranean bunker is just as it was when stood down in 1991, and the one hour guided tour is enhanced by a short film. Summer opening (25th March - October 31st): Wednesday - Sunday, plus bank holidays, between 10am and 6pm. Entrance by guided tour only, at the following times: 10:00, 11:15. 11:45, 13:00, 14:15, 15:30, 16:45.
brighton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Intresting”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had come across the cold war bunker by accident and thouht I would pay a visit, Its about an hour tour and very imformative of the history of the bunker and why it ended up where it is. Its about a 15 / 20 min walk out of the city centre but only visit if you are intrested

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gezzer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    126
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place to visit in York when the weather is poor”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rain or shine it is all the same to people who are looking round this interesting and unusual English Heritage building. Not too easy to find but worth the effort. Very enthusiastic and informative guides take you on a one hour tour and back in time to the Cold War days which lasted from just after WW2 to 1991. During that time this was the local headquaters of the Royal Observer Corps whose job it would have been to plot the position of Nuclear Bomb blasts and predict the are that would be contaminated with radioactive fallout. A short film sets the scene and shows the effects of a nuclear explosion. Well worth the money which was £6.50 for adults and £5.90 for concessions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very informative visit”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We decided to have a day out in the York area and stumbled across this on TA. From the many positive reviews we thought we would give it a go, and we were sure glad we did.

My girlfriend and I quite enjoy looking around old war places, and this tour was packed with information. You got a sense of what it was really like to be stationed in a Cold War bunker.

As we were the only two people, we had a private tour and our tour guide was very chatty and friendly.

If you are planning a day out in York then certainly put this on your list of things to do.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CjChamb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we were recommended this place by friends and thought it was very interesting. the liked it also but for different reasons to me, they liked the intrigue but i loved reading the history

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pop in if passing”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The tour lasts approximately an hour A guide provides useful insight into the history of the bunker, as well as offering a good overview of the wider nuclear arms race/political issues. We were there on a hot summer's day and pleasant temperature inside, but told that often cool inside and need a jumper. The video showing consequences of nuclear bomb is still graphic despite using film technology of fifty years ago.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank qferryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Cold War Bunker also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Cold War Bunker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing