We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of The Nags Head York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nags Head York
Ranked #100 of 192 York B&B and Inns
gateshead
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Had stayed here with a group of girls 3 year ago for my 40th for £30 each, i enjoyed it so much i decided 2 book up for 7 of us girls for 2 40th birthdays now at £35 probally put it up as I think the rooms have been decorated. The rooms were spot on nice and clean had every think you needed. Its even better that the rooms are at the back of the pub so no noise. The girls had a full breakfast I didn't feel like somethink that big so i ask for a poached egg the lad said they didn't do them so I ask for scrambled egg on toast it was nice plenty of toast, tea, coffee. The staff seem friendly enough didn't really speak much, Its about 20mins walk into York plenty taxis around. Would stay again with the girls.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xbabykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    24
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
35
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Nags Head and have to say what a lovly place it is.The food is nice and you get plenty,the rooms are very clean and cosy and most of all very warm.We have stayed at b&b all over the country and they nearly all of them the rooms were cold so well done to the owner for that.It is about a 20 minute walk to the city centre and the pub has a free car park so you can leave the car there and walk which is handy.The staff were friendly and helpful,we will defo be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellebryson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Myself&two of my friends stayed here for a night in end of October! It was Halloween weekend when we arrived&the pub was decked with decorations which was good fun!
The rooms were clean and comfortable,we had a single and a twin room..the hotel was fully booked I believe when we stayed.
The bar had a good range of drinks,and the staff were very friendly&helpful!!
The breakfast on the Sunday was amazing..cereals and fresh juice followed by a lovely cooked breakfast!!
The hotel itself was not far from York,you could have walked but we opted for a taxi from the station for about £8..
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at The Nags Head whilst visiting York for the night and we couldnt of picked a better place. The rooms are spacous,nicely decorated and very clean. The staff were lovely,welcoming and very helpful. The food was lovely too. When we woke up in the morning and shuffled downstairs we was welcome by a full english or choice of cereals and toast. We would definatly stay here again and can highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay just out of York centre.

Note * Taxi fare into York £6 - £8

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midgetgem1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I ate here with My Mum, Sister and my partners family on Sunday 11th November 2012. It has a great Sunday Carvery priced at under £8 with discount for pensioners/children. A choice of 4 hot roasts of the day and as much Vegt as you can pile on your plate! Lovely cosy locals atmosphere showing live sports in a separate bar. Staff very friendly. Always a pleasure to visit anytime of the week when popping back to my 'hometown'. Thanks again. Mark Lewis

Room Tip: Go for Sunday Lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I cannot stress just how bad the food was here, most people prefer less on their plate ,so they can actually see what they are eating. My husband ordered steak, and it was hidden under a mound of awfull chips, and hard core peas,When he finnally managed to get to the steak it was to say the least tough and poorly cooked. My meal Lasagne was also just thrown on the plate and didnt appear appetising what so ever. Both meals were left, and we would recomend that you choose to eat elsewhere if you are visiting York, Presentation goes a long way where food is concerned, and as I say this is definatley a case where less is more, should be on the menu. There is also a charge for paying by card.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Seven ladies made very welcome..barstaff very helpful...food excellent...rooms clean& tidy. Will definitely use nags head again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lilo-Linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#119 of 192 in York
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#104 of 192 in York
134 reviews
15.0 mi away
Ye Olde Red Lion
Ye Olde Red Lion
#116 of 192 in York
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dovecote House
Dovecote House
#55 of 192 in York
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#38 of 192 in York
320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lighthorseman
Lighthorseman
#78 of 192 in York
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head York

Property: The Nags Head York
Address: 56 Heworth Road, York YO31 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head York 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to stay in York, our bed and breakfast accommodation is comfortable and affordable and provides an ideal base from which to explore York and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nags Head York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing