We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Gathering”
Review of The Nags Head York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nags Head York
Ranked #105 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Hi this was a really nice B & B close to the town clean rooms and nice food, we tried to get a cab into town and the owner Jim took us, really nice guy and good service. He recommended places to visit and where to eat. All in all the Nags Head is worth a visit :))))))))

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TheHowletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Visited on a busy Saturday lunch time with the family, the food was fantastic and the service was quick and friendly, a good varied menu and fantastic value for money, Jim and his team made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachaelpew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

hi we booked this b&b because the place we normally stay at was fully booked and we are so glad it was we had a double room with bed & breakfast and i would just like to say the staff are very friendly and the food excellent the rooms are very clean and an evening in the pub with the locals was excellent we will be staying here in the future because its very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jezoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having stayed at the Nags Head previously I had no hesitation in booking in again on a recent cultural trip to Yorkshire. The pub itself has just benefited from a refurbishment and looked exceptionally clean and tidy. The bar was awash with cask ales from local Yorkshire brewers and included the very palatable John Smiths cask as well as 3 offerings from Theakstons. Having sampled a couple of the delicious beverages on offer I can confirm the landlord certainly knows how to keep a good cellar!

The menu has had an overhaul since my last visit and offers a wide variety to cater for everybody. The breakfast is a joy to behold with a full English on offer.

The room I stayed in was very clean and comfortable and even though it was one of the hottest nights of the year somehow remained thankfully cool. All in all the Nags Head offers great value accommodation for people visiting York and as the city walls are only a short walk away it makes an ideal base for people wanting to visit and spend time in York.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank big_yorkshire_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Had stayed here with a group of girls 3 year ago for my 40th for £30 each, i enjoyed it so much i decided 2 book up for 7 of us girls for 2 40th birthdays now at £35 probally put it up as I think the rooms have been decorated. The rooms were spot on nice and clean had every think you needed. Its even better that the rooms are at the back of the pub so no noise. The girls had a full breakfast I didn't feel like somethink that big so i ask for a poached egg the lad said they didn't do them so I ask for scrambled egg on toast it was nice plenty of toast, tea, coffee. The staff seem friendly enough didn't really speak much, Its about 20mins walk into York plenty taxis around. Would stay again with the girls.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xbabykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Nags Head and have to say what a lovly place it is.The food is nice and you get plenty,the rooms are very clean and cosy and most of all very warm.We have stayed at b&b all over the country and they nearly all of them the rooms were cold so well done to the owner for that.It is about a 20 minute walk to the city centre and the pub has a free car park so you can leave the car there and walk which is handy.The staff were friendly and helpful,we will defo be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellebryson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Myself&two of my friends stayed here for a night in end of October! It was Halloween weekend when we arrived&the pub was decked with decorations which was good fun!
The rooms were clean and comfortable,we had a single and a twin room..the hotel was fully booked I believe when we stayed.
The bar had a good range of drinks,and the staff were very friendly&helpful!!
The breakfast on the Sunday was amazing..cereals and fresh juice followed by a lovely cooked breakfast!!
The hotel itself was not far from York,you could have walked but we opted for a taxi from the station for about £8..
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#124 of 195 in York
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dovecote House
Dovecote House
#54 of 195 in York
134 reviews
6 mi away
The Grey Horse Inn
The Grey Horse Inn
#69 of 195 in York
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#75 of 195 in York
152 reviews
1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#100 of 195 in York
18 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#20 of 195 in York
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head York

Address: 56 Heworth Road, York YO31 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £67 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head York 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to stay in York, our bed and breakfast accommodation is comfortable and affordable and provides an ideal base from which to explore York and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Nags Head York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing