We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish and chips!”

Thompsons Fish Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 887 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the jumbo fish and chips between us and couldn't finish it! Perfectly cooked fish and chips, served with a smile by a lovely waitress. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunseekers017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    141
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fish & chips just as it ought to be”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent fresh cod and chips: what more can I say?
Prompt service, clean loos and lots more choice on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster england
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“beautiful place to eat”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

called on our way back from filey and glad we did meal was gorgeous and well presented, what i would call proper fish and chips well presented and reasonably priced and a lovely decor as well . Well worth a visit !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“thompsons fish and chips simply the best”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

went to thompsons fisheries on Monday the 19th of may had a fab meal the restaurant is cool crisp and comtempory the food is out of this world the waitress carnt do enough they go over the call of duty to help u and they do it with a smile the chefs are worth there weight in gold the food is amazing so if ur in the York area and travelling to the seaside call in the girls will be pleased to see u and u will get a hello with a smile xxxx

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 707vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A really must try”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Once again we had excellent food and brilliant service. We found Thompsons fish restaurant in 2010 and have always had wonderful tasty food, fish so fresh and the best part is NO Bones. Huge portions and that is not all, you get fresh bread, tea or coffee and if you don't like hot drinks as I don't, they will oblige by giving you an orange juice. Thanks once again Thompsons. PS I do not know why they have a pudding board we can never eat all the fish dinner. BRILLIANT.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thompsons Fish Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thompsons Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing