We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
198
34
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh milk guest house guest lounge city centre helpful hosts each morning regular bus service bus stop off street parking a great place to stay full english ghost walk clean tidy set us up for the day on arrival black pudding bottled water
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We'd never been to York and live near Bristol. On Monday 9 May, I took details of the hotel from the York Tourist Information site, rang the co-proprietor Tom Whiteford and immediately felt all would be well because of his most helpful responses to our specific needs. Totally client orientated in a quiet and human manner. Traveled there next day. There's a spacious, off-the road- car park. Left our car there all week as regular buses to and from York centre, an 8 minute journey, pass the door in this relatively quiet, suburban road - used our bus passes! We had a clean and comfortable en-suite room. Enjoyed huge breakfasts each morning and perfectly cooked dinners each evening bar one when we stayed late in central York. Professional chef and staff. Hotel is big enough to have pleasant company with other guests of an evening. Found that several of them were 'regulars' and that is the best recommendation for this excellent hotel. Owned and operated by a totally honest couple who give considerate attention to every detail for their clients' comforts. We feel so lucky to have found it and whole heartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: Just call 01904 422786 and state YOUR needs.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oct0genarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Very many thanks to Janice and Tom for accommodating an elderley relative, who had travelled from Canada via Scotland to visit us in York. Janice and Tom certainly will go down in our elderly relatives memory when she returns to Canada. The meal on Friday 22 April 2011 was superb, many thanks to the Chef, the restaurant is certainly one to try, the food was excellent. The relative says, that even at 81 years of age she will definitely be back to stay and we will definitely be back for another superb meal.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is a first class hotel, very comfortable with all the facilities. The staff were most helpful and made us welcome. The meals were varied and cooked to perfection no doubt by a Master Chef. We intend returning to that hotel in the Autumn. We have recommended it to friends, who are considering to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henderson512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I always check out Trip Advisor before booking into a previously unvisited hotel - the Blakeney certainly lived up to the recommendations. Tom Whiteford - proprietor was a fount of knowledge on York and enthusiastically covered all aspects of transportation into the city and its main attractions.
The hotel was comfortable, well appointed, spotlessly clean and all services were efficiently carried out. There was a good menu choice in the restaurant with an adequate (and reasonably priced) wine list. The full breakfast certainly set us up for the day ahead.
I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This has been our third stay there and each time we stay the staff are always friendly and helpful.The food is excellent. The Blakeney is very clean and a 30 minute walk to the town centre or a short bus ride. I would highly reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaladixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews