We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
198
34
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh milk guest house guest lounge city centre helpful hosts each morning regular bus service bus stop off street parking a great place to stay full english ghost walk clean tidy set us up for the day on arrival black pudding bottled water
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

A homely and friendly hotel with excellent food and accommodation. Janice, Tom and the staff made us very welcome. It's only a short bus ride from the centre of York with plenty to see and do. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noni195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

stayed with 6 friends at the Blakeney and had a marvellous time. The food is fantastic. A fresh menu daily using local in season foods. And puddings to die for , if you have a space! Tom and Janice had no problem catering for special dietry menus.
Easy access to the main centre of York, yet quiet at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy241251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We have stayed at the Blakeney three times in the last nine months and have already booked to stay again this September. Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel which is run by Tom & Janice Whiteford, they are very friendly and Tom is a mine of information, he will help you to the very best of his ability to make sure you get the very best of your stay in York, the chef, Ben is highly tallented, his food is amazing and the menu's are varied each day with several choices of starter, main and dessert. Rooms are nicely furnished and spotlessly clean, the hotel is exactly one mile from York Minster, a nice 25 minute stroll into the City or the bus stop is about 20 yards from the front gate, I thoroughly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We'd never been to York and live near Bristol. On Monday 9 May, I took details of the hotel from the York Tourist Information site, rang the co-proprietor Tom Whiteford and immediately felt all would be well because of his most helpful responses to our specific needs. Totally client orientated in a quiet and human manner. Traveled there next day. There's a spacious, off-the road- car park. Left our car there all week as regular buses to and from York centre, an 8 minute journey, pass the door in this relatively quiet, suburban road - used our bus passes! We had a clean and comfortable en-suite room. Enjoyed huge breakfasts each morning and perfectly cooked dinners each evening bar one when we stayed late in central York. Professional chef and staff. Hotel is big enough to have pleasant company with other guests of an evening. Found that several of them were 'regulars' and that is the best recommendation for this excellent hotel. Owned and operated by a totally honest couple who give considerate attention to every detail for their clients' comforts. We feel so lucky to have found it and whole heartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: Just call 01904 422786 and state YOUR needs.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oct0genarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Very many thanks to Janice and Tom for accommodating an elderley relative, who had travelled from Canada via Scotland to visit us in York. Janice and Tom certainly will go down in our elderly relatives memory when she returns to Canada. The meal on Friday 22 April 2011 was superb, many thanks to the Chef, the restaurant is certainly one to try, the food was excellent. The relative says, that even at 81 years of age she will definitely be back to stay and we will definitely be back for another superb meal.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews