We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed on the outskirts.”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #36 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed on the outskirts.”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The alarm bells started to ring the moment we drove into the car park. The car park seemed over run with builders vans and skips. Things didn't improve when we discovered the Blakeney had new owners and, although I said nothing at the time, I was a little miffed that we had not been informed about any of this. I was concerned that the reviews we had used to make our decision to stay there were suddenly irrelevant and that we were booked into a bulding site rather that a homely B&B. I am delighted to say that my concerns were completely unfounded and we found Mark and Louise to be great hosts and there was no disturbance from the building work being carried out, mainly next door. Very helpful hosts, very clean throughout and a good breakfast. This is a great place to stay just a few minute bus ride from the centre of one of Britain's great cties.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the building and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your excellent review, although I am sorry to hear you had reservations when you arrived. Unfortunately there were a lot of workman that particular day.
The builder next door has been very helpful and they endeavour not to bang before 9.00am, enabling our Guest to enjoy their sleep and breakfast.
The work at the back of our premise has no inpact on the Guest accomodation and as it is nearly finished the skip will be moved from the car park soon.
Mark and I are recieving excellant feedback from our guest and have just been awarded a safe four stars with Visit England.
Our main priority is making our guests stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    33
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
114
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

In mid-May my friend and I stayed at the Blakeney Hotel which had just recently been taken over by new owners. This B&B hotel was very well kept, the breakfasts were delicious, and the hosts very friendly and helpful. The location was great--a few steps from a busstop. Excellent place from which to explore the great little city of York. You won't be sorry that you chose the Blekeney!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michwlw_M57257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your great review
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Blakeney House & Restaurant in York is a great place to stay. Louise and Mark are very friendly and involved hosts who make the comfort of their guests their main concern. The rooms are neat and tidy and I was pleasntly suprised that they had face clothes. The breakfast is very well done with good quality bacon and sausages and free flowing coffee and tea. Finally, the price is reasonable. I would definately stay again.

It would be helpful if they added wireless in the future but this is a very minor point on what was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. Mark and I are proud new owners of Blakeney House and pride ourselves on offering our Guests a warm welcome and comfortable stay, as well as those extra little touchs.

Please be aware that we already have free WiFi for all our guests.
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stopped at this guest house as we were going to York races. Everything was great. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Accommodation was clean and spacious and the breakfast was very good. Would not hesitate to recommend staying here if you are visiting York

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM_RVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your great review.

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cawood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Found this place by accident and have already booked for Autumn half term. Just outside the city centre but easy enough to walk in or catch the regular buses. Nice, clean big rooms with what looked like brand new bathrooms. Great full English breakfast and lovely hosts(Good local knowledge and tips). Good value for money as well. Nice place to unwind after a busy day in York. Certainly a cut above some of the rip-off B&B's we've stayed in before in the centre of town. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CawoodRedmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We arrived at Blakeney house for a one night stay and were warmly received by Tom who was extremely helpful in giving us information so we could make the most of our short visit to York. Our room was comfotable and clean, nice en suite and we enjoyed a good nights sleep after exploring York. The breakfast was excellent , particularly liked the homemade granola! On departure Tom kindly called for a taxi to take us to the station.Reading other reviews we note that the decor is sometimes described dated, well to some it may be but we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed for one night in this traditional hotel over the weekend. Would rate this hotel as excellent if not for the traditional decor, but don't let this put you off since it was well maintained and tidy. The hotel was exceptionally clean, and the owner and staff were very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

This hotel was one of only a few in York that accepted us for a one night stay over the weekend. We really appreciated this and feel that customer satisfaction was a top priority from the owner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#40 of 192 in York
318 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 192 in York
1,354 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleepers Guest House
Sleepers Guest House
#24 of 192 in York
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Property: Blakeney House
Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing