We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive & Very Welcoming Hosts”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #33 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in May 2012, not long after Louise and Mark took over this B&B. They were both very welcoming, friendly, attentive and hospitable hosts. Our room and bathroom were clean and spacious and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom light and towels were soft and fluffy. Mark was happy to share some suggestions for local dining options,directions into York, which was about a 15 minute walk and historical sites to visit.

Breakfast was delicious, hot and well cooked and served by a very pleasant waitress with Louise ensuring all was as we wanted it and enquiring as to our activities the night, our plans for the day and hers and Mark's future plans for the B&B.

A bonus was the onsite parking and I truly would not hesitate in recommending this establishment and would certainly visit again should we be lucky enough to re-visit York.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Blakeney House. The owners were lovely, very helpful in printing out information of attractions in York, had excellent knowledge of York, where to eat, places to go and how to deciper a bus timetable :-). On arrival we checked in, unpacked and came down to the guest lounge to a drink and two pieces each of homemade flapjack (with chocolate on top) and lemon sponge - both devine. Our room was spacious, very clean, with fresh towels. The bathroom was again a good size, very clean with an excellent shower that allowed you to change the temperature to what you like. There was also a fridge on the landing with water and milk in, for all residents to use, plus you could leave your bottle of wine in there, or other drinks to keep cool - a fabulous additional facility. Each morning the breakfast was ceral, fruit and museli, with an excellent choice of a full english/ two specialty breakfasts of the day/ scrambled eggs on toast. The full english included lovely thick bacon and a proper sausage!! Would highly recommend Blakeney House, it is 20-25 minutes walk from York Centre, or £6 in a taxi or £1.80 each way on the bus, the bus stop is right outside the door. There is car parking for all guests to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My Husband, Daughter and myself stayed for a long weekend. The accommodation was very clean. We were given a lovely welcome by Mark, he also gave us lots of local information which was extremely helpful. The rooms were decorated to a high standard. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious - and plenty of choice too. The waitresses were very attentive. Louise is very friendly, enquiring each morning as to our activities for the day and giving us varied reviews of the attractions we were intending on visiting. A fridge had been installed at the top of the landing with complimentary milk, orange juice and bottles of water - a nice touch. It was also ideal for storing the odd bottle of wine!! I will happily recommend this accommodation to anyone who is planning on making a trip to York - only a 15 minute walk from Blakeney House to the City. Many thanks for making our first (and not last) trip to York so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cromergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for your excellent and detailed review. The fridge seems to be a big hit, so we hope to introduce other facilities for our guest in the future.

Best wishes
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband, myself and our 3 children stayed at the Blakeney on 13th/14th July. Our rooms were spotless, well stocked with teatrays, mini pamper packs and towels. The bed was so comfortable that I never wanted to leave it! It is an excellent location as you can take a flat walk into York city centre in about 20 minutes or get a bus from the stop a few feet down the road. The breakfasts were delightful and nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, Louise (sorry I called you Chrisine for the whole of our stay, you should have said)! Aswell as a hot breakfast menu, there was a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt. On the landing outside our room, the hosts have thoughfully placed a fridge where you can help yourself to water and milk or chill a bottle of wine.
As it was Graduation weekend and the York races, the Blakeney provided extremely good value for money - I was quoted almost double for 2 rooms at the chain hotels in the city. I would highly recommend the Blakeney hotel to anyone going to York.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you liked the fridge, we hope to make other little touches in the future, that will enhance our guests stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Blakeney House in York the night of June 15, 2012 and were delighted with this bed and breakfast! Mark and Louise are the new owners and they could not have been more welcoming. Our rooms were lovely, the beds super comfy, and the bathrooms spotless. Upon arriving, Louise greeted us with a much appreciated delicious tea. The following morning, we enjoyed a yummy traditional English breakfast—the best we had during our stay in England! We enjoyed the walk to and from York center. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glad2travel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The alarm bells started to ring the moment we drove into the car park. The car park seemed over run with builders vans and skips. Things didn't improve when we discovered the Blakeney had new owners and, although I said nothing at the time, I was a little miffed that we had not been informed about any of this. I was concerned that the reviews we had used to make our decision to stay there were suddenly irrelevant and that we were booked into a bulding site rather that a homely B&B. I am delighted to say that my concerns were completely unfounded and we found Mark and Louise to be great hosts and there was no disturbance from the building work being carried out, mainly next door. Very helpful hosts, very clean throughout and a good breakfast. This is a great place to stay just a few minute bus ride from the centre of one of Britain's great cties.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the building and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your excellent review, although I am sorry to hear you had reservations when you arrived. Unfortunately there were a lot of workman that particular day.
The builder next door has been very helpful and they endeavour not to bang before 9.00am, enabling our Guest to enjoy their sleep and breakfast.
The work at the back of our premise has no inpact on the Guest accomodation and as it is nearly finished the skip will be moved from the car park soon.
Mark and I are recieving excellant feedback from our guest and have just been awarded a safe four stars with Visit England.
Our main priority is making our guests stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

In mid-May my friend and I stayed at the Blakeney Hotel which had just recently been taken over by new owners. This B&B hotel was very well kept, the breakfasts were delicious, and the hosts very friendly and helpful. The location was great--a few steps from a busstop. Excellent place from which to explore the great little city of York. You won't be sorry that you chose the Blekeney!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michwlw_M57257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your great review
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#47 of 194 in York
325 reviews
7.8 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#13 of 194 in York
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 194 in York
406 reviews
1.7 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#21 of 194 in York
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £70 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing