We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blakeney House
Nearby Hotels
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$90
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
195
34
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkguest houseguest loungecity centrehelpful hostsregular bus serviceeach morningbus stopoff street parkinga great place to staybreakfasts were excellentfull englishghost walkclean tidyperfect hostsset us up for the dayvisiting york
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and i stayed for 3 nights at Blakeney house. Louise and Mark were both very welcoming and made our stay relaxing. The accommodation was to a high standard and the breakfasts were great. Louise was very attentive and made sure that we had every thing we needed. Mark had a good knowledge of the area and the local transport. Many thanks to you both for our first time visit to York and hopfully not the last. Look forward to another stay at Blakeney House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in May 2012, not long after Louise and Mark took over this B&B. They were both very welcoming, friendly, attentive and hospitable hosts. Our room and bathroom were clean and spacious and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom light and towels were soft and fluffy. Mark was happy to share some suggestions for local dining options,directions into York, which was about a 15 minute walk and historical sites to visit.

Breakfast was delicious, hot and well cooked and served by a very pleasant waitress with Louise ensuring all was as we wanted it and enquiring as to our activities the night, our plans for the day and hers and Mark's future plans for the B&B.

A bonus was the onsite parking and I truly would not hesitate in recommending this establishment and would certainly visit again should we be lucky enough to re-visit York.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Blakeney House. The owners were lovely, very helpful in printing out information of attractions in York, had excellent knowledge of York, where to eat, places to go and how to deciper a bus timetable :-). On arrival we checked in, unpacked and came down to the guest lounge to a drink and two pieces each of homemade flapjack (with chocolate on top) and lemon sponge - both devine. Our room was spacious, very clean, with fresh towels. The bathroom was again a good size, very clean with an excellent shower that allowed you to change the temperature to what you like. There was also a fridge on the landing with water and milk in, for all residents to use, plus you could leave your bottle of wine in there, or other drinks to keep cool - a fabulous additional facility. Each morning the breakfast was ceral, fruit and museli, with an excellent choice of a full english/ two specialty breakfasts of the day/ scrambled eggs on toast. The full english included lovely thick bacon and a proper sausage!! Would highly recommend Blakeney House, it is 20-25 minutes walk from York Centre, or £6 in a taxi or £1.80 each way on the bus, the bus stop is right outside the door. There is car parking for all guests to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My Husband, Daughter and myself stayed for a long weekend. The accommodation was very clean. We were given a lovely welcome by Mark, he also gave us lots of local information which was extremely helpful. The rooms were decorated to a high standard. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious - and plenty of choice too. The waitresses were very attentive. Louise is very friendly, enquiring each morning as to our activities for the day and giving us varied reviews of the attractions we were intending on visiting. A fridge had been installed at the top of the landing with complimentary milk, orange juice and bottles of water - a nice touch. It was also ideal for storing the odd bottle of wine!! I will happily recommend this accommodation to anyone who is planning on making a trip to York - only a 15 minute walk from Blakeney House to the City. Many thanks for making our first (and not last) trip to York so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cromergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for your excellent and detailed review. The fridge seems to be a big hit, so we hope to introduce other facilities for our guest in the future.

Best wishes
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband, myself and our 3 children stayed at the Blakeney on 13th/14th July. Our rooms were spotless, well stocked with teatrays, mini pamper packs and towels. The bed was so comfortable that I never wanted to leave it! It is an excellent location as you can take a flat walk into York city centre in about 20 minutes or get a bus from the stop a few feet down the road. The breakfasts were delightful and nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, Louise (sorry I called you Chrisine for the whole of our stay, you should have said)! Aswell as a hot breakfast menu, there was a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt. On the landing outside our room, the hosts have thoughfully placed a fridge where you can help yourself to water and milk or chill a bottle of wine.
As it was Graduation weekend and the York races, the Blakeney provided extremely good value for money - I was quoted almost double for 2 rooms at the chain hotels in the city. I would highly recommend the Blakeney hotel to anyone going to York.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you liked the fridge, we hope to make other little touches in the future, that will enhance our guests stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews