We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
198
34
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkguest houseguest loungecity centrehelpful hostseach morningregular bus servicebus stopoff street parkinga great place to stayfull englishghost walkclean tidyset us up for the dayon arrivalblack puddingbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A warm welcome awaits you from the minute you arrive. Booked the family room 2 adults and three children (6, 9 and 13) which was clean and comfortable, nice touch with the fridge outside with complimentary milk, water and juice for the kids. A lovely breakfast then sets you up for the day well done Louise and Mark would have no hesitation for recommending your b&b.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and i stayed for 3 nights at Blakeney house. Louise and Mark were both very welcoming and made our stay relaxing. The accommodation was to a high standard and the breakfasts were great. Louise was very attentive and made sure that we had every thing we needed. Mark had a good knowledge of the area and the local transport. Many thanks to you both for our first time visit to York and hopfully not the last. Look forward to another stay at Blakeney House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in May 2012, not long after Louise and Mark took over this B&B. They were both very welcoming, friendly, attentive and hospitable hosts. Our room and bathroom were clean and spacious and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom light and towels were soft and fluffy. Mark was happy to share some suggestions for local dining options,directions into York, which was about a 15 minute walk and historical sites to visit.

Breakfast was delicious, hot and well cooked and served by a very pleasant waitress with Louise ensuring all was as we wanted it and enquiring as to our activities the night, our plans for the day and hers and Mark's future plans for the B&B.

A bonus was the onsite parking and I truly would not hesitate in recommending this establishment and would certainly visit again should we be lucky enough to re-visit York.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Blakeney House. The owners were lovely, very helpful in printing out information of attractions in York, had excellent knowledge of York, where to eat, places to go and how to deciper a bus timetable :-). On arrival we checked in, unpacked and came down to the guest lounge to a drink and two pieces each of homemade flapjack (with chocolate on top) and lemon sponge - both devine. Our room was spacious, very clean, with fresh towels. The bathroom was again a good size, very clean with an excellent shower that allowed you to change the temperature to what you like. There was also a fridge on the landing with water and milk in, for all residents to use, plus you could leave your bottle of wine in there, or other drinks to keep cool - a fabulous additional facility. Each morning the breakfast was ceral, fruit and museli, with an excellent choice of a full english/ two specialty breakfasts of the day/ scrambled eggs on toast. The full english included lovely thick bacon and a proper sausage!! Would highly recommend Blakeney House, it is 20-25 minutes walk from York Centre, or £6 in a taxi or £1.80 each way on the bus, the bus stop is right outside the door. There is car parking for all guests to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My Husband, Daughter and myself stayed for a long weekend. The accommodation was very clean. We were given a lovely welcome by Mark, he also gave us lots of local information which was extremely helpful. The rooms were decorated to a high standard. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious - and plenty of choice too. The waitresses were very attentive. Louise is very friendly, enquiring each morning as to our activities for the day and giving us varied reviews of the attractions we were intending on visiting. A fridge had been installed at the top of the landing with complimentary milk, orange juice and bottles of water - a nice touch. It was also ideal for storing the odd bottle of wine!! I will happily recommend this accommodation to anyone who is planning on making a trip to York - only a 15 minute walk from Blakeney House to the City. Many thanks for making our first (and not last) trip to York so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cromergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for your excellent and detailed review. The fridge seems to be a big hit, so we hope to introduce other facilities for our guest in the future.

Best wishes
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews