We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #33 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was one of the few places that would let us stay for just one night. It seems that most of the B&B's will not let you do that. It is an old building that the owners had just recently taken over in may. Guest room and bathroom were very clean. Without a doubt the breakfast we had was the best of any place that we stayed during our travels through England and Whales. There is parking on the property, though we had to park on the street which really was not a problem. It is a good twenty minute walk to York Center City, Mark recommended a local pub just a few streets away and we had a lovely time there. We met some of the locals and they were so kind to us. We have found that we got so much more information from people in pubs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyLowerBurrell_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

With a hot drink and homemade cake on arrival we were off to a good start. This B&B is a good 20 min walk into town. There is a bus stop out front, but with 4 of us, a cab ride of just over £5 was probably cheaper and certainly easier. The family room, comfortably sleeping 4 (with bunks for the kids) was really good value. Bed was too soft for my taste, but would still happily recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We found this via Visit York website. On arrival we had a warm welcome & were offered complimentary tea & homemade cakes in the guest lounge. Room was spacious & spotless with everything we could need. There was a fridge in the hallway with fresh milk & glass bottles full of chilled water to help ourselves to. The bed was comfy. Nice ensuite with modern overbath shower. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The location was great with regular buses from right outside the door in/out of York centre in under 10 mins for just over £5 return for both of us. We would definitely go again & can happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

A very pleasant B&B We arrived after a very trying journey and were greeted warmly by Louise with tea and scrumptious home made cakes-yum.The current owners have been there since May this year.The rooms are good and clean.The breakfast is excellent.We did not eat again all day after it.
We would recommend this B&B to anyone.It is excellent value Mark & Louise make you very
welcome and are most helpful

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Arriving after a long journey we were greeted by Louise with tea and home made cake in the guest lounge, this set the tone for the whole stay.The room was good sized, very clean and comfortable,with coffee and tea making facilites and, being in a residential area little traffic noise at night. There was even a fridge on the landing providing free water, fresh milk and juice, great for chilling your own drinks.There is a good sized car park as well as plenty of on-road parking.The bus stop for York is just outside the hotel with a regular service which takes about ten minutes. The location is good for getting to other places of interest in the area. The breakfast was excellent, loads of choice,with a lot of locally produced food on the menu.
Our hosts were very helpful with bus times and places to see and where to eat in the evening.
There were plenty of tourist information leaflets available as well. We would recommend this as a place to stay when visiting York.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bevand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A warm welcome awaits you from the minute you arrive. Booked the family room 2 adults and three children (6, 9 and 13) which was clean and comfortable, nice touch with the fridge outside with complimentary milk, water and juice for the kids. A lovely breakfast then sets you up for the day well done Louise and Mark would have no hesitation for recommending your b&b.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and i stayed for 3 nights at Blakeney house. Louise and Mark were both very welcoming and made our stay relaxing. The accommodation was to a high standard and the breakfasts were great. Louise was very attentive and made sure that we had every thing we needed. Mark had a good knowledge of the area and the local transport. Many thanks to you both for our first time visit to York and hopfully not the last. Look forward to another stay at Blakeney House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#45 of 195 in York
325 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 195 in York
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 195 in York
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#58 of 195 in York
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#54 of 195 in York
204 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £78 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing