We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #33 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed at Blakeney House for 3 nights and it was lovely. It's in a good location, not right in the centre of York so the location is peaceful, but just a short drive into the city. The price for the rooms was excellent. The place had a warm, welcoming feel about it. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautifully clean on arrival and cleaned to a very high standard every day. Lots of little touches to make guests feel very welcome. I am a regular visitor to York and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger28England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

having read the reviews we took a chance and can only agree with all the positive comments. Great welcome, the lady of the house makes you very welcome on arrival and loved the tea and home baked cake on arrival. Room was warm and very well decorated. Breakfast for once was of good quality.Left the car and walked into town which is only 25 minutes on a safe, well lit road- no issues. I don't often recommend but this Guest House really deserves to be recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights for weekend trip to York. Complimentary tea and homemade lemon drizzle cake on arrival. Mark and Louise very friendly and made you feel at home. Room clean, linen beautiful, high standard of cleanliness. Breakfast superb, on menu full english but offered special of scrambled eggs with salmon on toasted muffin which was lovely and very filling, set you up for a days shopping in York. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends and familiy

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dundy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed overnight on business. Room was fine, with everything one would expect of a very decent small hotel/B&B: comfortable bed, high standard of cleanliness, toiletries, even a caramel chocolate on the towels! And parking spaces too.
Excellent full English breakfast included in the price, to set you up for the day.
All in all, one to go back to when I'm next in York.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember062320151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have stayed here in the past and whilst it was clean and the food good it had clearly lost its ummf but now under new management it is clearly being rejuvenated. The rooms are very comfortable clean and well serviced. We had complimentary tea, coffe and cakes on arrival and the hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming but not too intrusive just right. We will be back!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Jocampervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was one of the few places that would let us stay for just one night. It seems that most of the B&B's will not let you do that. It is an old building that the owners had just recently taken over in may. Guest room and bathroom were very clean. Without a doubt the breakfast we had was the best of any place that we stayed during our travels through England and Whales. There is parking on the property, though we had to park on the street which really was not a problem. It is a good twenty minute walk to York Center City, Mark recommended a local pub just a few streets away and we had a lovely time there. We met some of the locals and they were so kind to us. We have found that we got so much more information from people in pubs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyLowerBurrell_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

With a hot drink and homemade cake on arrival we were off to a good start. This B&B is a good 20 min walk into town. There is a bus stop out front, but with 4 of us, a cab ride of just over £5 was probably cheaper and certainly easier. The family room, comfortably sleeping 4 (with bunks for the kids) was really good value. Bed was too soft for my taste, but would still happily recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#47 of 194 in York
325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
2.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#18 of 194 in York
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#59 of 194 in York
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#54 of 194 in York
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
York House
York House
#69 of 194 in York
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £72 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing