We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karen and Eloise”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #31 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Mark and Louise are both lovely. We were welcomed with a cuppa and home made cake! The room was great and the breakfasts delicious. Blakeney Hotel was like a home from home only better! We will be going back there on our next visit to York.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Karen and Eloise Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoy making people feel welcome and special at Blakeney House. I hope we will see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was the 3rd time we have stayed at this exceptional B+B. We came up from Letchworth for our Daughters 19th birthday in February 2013. Mark and Louise are always very welcoming and hosts, providing superb service with a smile, throughout the whole of our stay. The rooms are exceptional, comfortable and clean, just right for a good nights sleep. The Breakfast is also excellent, with a great range including cereals, fruit juices, yoghurt, etc and the full english is to die for. All in all staying at the Blakeney whilst visiting our Daughter who is at York St Johns University is something we really look forward to, as an integral part of our visit. The walk into York is also very pleasant, as is York itself, but if you can't easily walk it, the regular bus service is also there to help, right on your doorstep!! We can't wait to come up and stay again, and explore some more of York. Highly recommended to all!!! Thank you Mark and Louise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr and Mrs A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you Lorraine and Alan for your wonderful review. It is always lovely to have you and your family to stay and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Best wishes Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Lovely couple, excellent service, nice rooms, everything clean, good local knowledge and very accomodating. Great value and a good breakfast. Nothing negative I can say, we stayed for one night at the weekend as a group of quite fussy ladies and we were really pleased with our choice!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peelings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for your kind review. lovely to see you all enjoying yourselves , I hope you have the perfect wedding day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Mark & Louise provide a great place to stay. Room was very clean & well decorated, excellent breakfasts cooked by Mark & his helper(s)! Nothing was to much trouble & made you feel very welcome.
A very nice refreshing tea tray with homemade cake was provided after our long drive in traffic & the lemon cake was divine, thanks Louise!
Very helpful with anything you needed to know, plenty of tourist info in reception or the main lounge.
We stayed with our 18 month old little boy & they catered for our every need. We managed to forget part of our baby monitor but they even had one to lend us - perfect.
There was also a fridge for guests to use on the landing which was handy for the little one's milk.

Regards location, quiet road, just out of town itself & a brisk 20/25 minute walk into York itself. Or taxi's are available & relatively cheap if you want a lift.

Lastly, for a bite to eat, as mentioned by others there is a place to eat literally 1 minute drive round the corner called the Walnut Tree, great friendly service & the rump steak burger was very nice!

Thanks for helping to make a superb short break for us, it was just what we needed.
Tim, Lyndsey & Reuben.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TimJ935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hi Tim, Lyndsey and Reuben

Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Myself and daughter arrived on good friday 2013 to a very lovely welcome from Louise, we were shown to our room and then given a nice cup of tea and cake in the lounge, which I thought was really nice after a longish journey, so helpful with advice on buses and taxis and places to eat, thanks for a pleasant stay and lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I enjoyed hearing all about your concert at the Barbican.

Many Thanks
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Mark and Louise are excellent, welcoming hosts. The overall ambience is very pleasant with fresh, good quality decor, comfortable beds and good quality bed-linen. The rooms we have used have been well-furnished with plenty of drawer and hanging space. The breakfasts are amongst the very best we have ever had in a B&B, with a fine fresh fruit mixture and scrupulous care from Mark over my boiled eggs. We have used several B&Bs in York, but this is by far the best and we have stayed there on many occasions, so that this review is not based on just a one-off experience..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for your informative and excellent review. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

York is a great city to visit. This guest house is great value for money. Lovely welcome - tea and home made cake. Good sized, clean, comfortable rooms - we slept well. Excellent breakfast with good service. Louise's recommendation of the nearby Walnut Tree for an evening meal was spot on. Good off-street parking. Easy 20 minute stroll into town - buses also available. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picardy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

It was lovely to meet you both at the weekend I hope you enjoyed the film. Thank you for you lovely review. We enjoy helping to make our guest stay an memorable experience.

Best wishes Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#45 of 194 in York
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,431 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#16 of 194 in York
735 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £84 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing