We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #32 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

What a warm welcome we received and our room so comfortable, making for a very relaxing couple of days. Blakeney House is conveniently situated, only a short walk into York. Breakfast was excellent, sustained us for most of the day! We felt very much at home in Blakeney House, everything had been thought about and Mark and Louise so friendly. Would definitlely recommend and will certainly stay again when next in York. Rosie and Katie

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you Rosie and Kate for your complimentry review. It was lovley to have you stay with us and I am glad you had such a lovely relaxing time. Many Thanks Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Mark and Louise were amazing from the first e-mail, to the 50th birthday celebration and weekend stay that they catered for at Blakeney House. Blakeney House is a clean, well appointed and wonderful hotel that we all enjoyed. Our party had 4 of their rooms overnight and we all thought that they were perfect, comfortable and with everything we needed. Blakeney House is clean and we all think the breakfast is the best in York! The children loved the fruit and yoghurt and we all enjoyed the traditional english breakfast - delicious! We all made good use of the cosy guest sitting room and we also had a wonderful 50th Birthday buffet lunch in the dining room, which is a lovely room, clean, spacious and brilliant for birthday events. The buffet that Louise arranged was faultless and everyone said how nice it was. All home-made and cooked at Blakeney House! After a ghost walk around York which is an easy distance from Blakeney House, we had a fantastic weekend. Mark and Louise couldn't have been more accomodating and we would love to go back and stay at Blakeney House again. THANK YOU SO MUCH LOUISE AND MARK. From Wayne, Tracey, and his birthday party!

Room Tip: Our party used 4 rooms at Blakeney House and they were all excellent. We especially recommend the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey35Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Tracy and Wayne I am so pleased we were able to help make your special celebration such an enjoyable one. I look forward to seeing you and your family again at Blakeney House in the future.

Best wishes Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Mark and Louise are brilliant hosts,our double room was immaculate,the breakfast was top notch and if this wasn't enough there was a fridge provided with fresh milk and water on the landing where you could keep your own drinks in including wine if you wanted,the walk into York is only a 25 min walk,there are plenty of buses into town,and the coast,or even taxis if you wish,there are plenty of places to eat,Mark and Louise will also let you have take away in the dining room if so desired,we stayed for 3 nights I parked my car in the car park out back and that is where it stayed till we left,we will stay at the Blakeney house again. Peter&Theresa,Suffolk

Room Tip: Location and friendliness is fantastic .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterteager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you Peter and Theresa so much for your excellant review. We are so pleased to hear that your experience with us was such an enjoyable one and look forward to having you to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we stayed there for 3 nights, and it was amazing! the breakfast was lovely. It was spotlessly
clean! And it was in a lovely location close to public transport. The landlords couldn't do enough for you they were lovely.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your complimentry review. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay. It is aways good to know our housekeeping is spot on!

Many Thanks Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

stayed at Blakeney house York 3 nights September 10th bed @breakfast could not foult it breakfast super hosts could not be faulted nice quite room easy to get into York plenty of parking look foreword to going again mick @ carol derby

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick1942606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

I'm pleased to hear to had a great experience at Blakeney House. We do strive to make sure our guest enjoy their stay. Many Thanks Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

we stayed as a couple for a long weekend,could not fault the b&b nothing was to much trouble for mark & louise the owners. the breakfast was spot on,rooms were extremely comfortable.would recommend this b&b to anyone,as we will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future..

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a wedding reception during the big racing weekend. What a pleasant surprise!!

The hosts were very helpful and friendly, the room was perfect and location was great. Its about 20 mins walk from town centre.

You'll love it there!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsalhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoy helping to make our guests break away, no matter how long or short an enjoyable one.

Thank Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#41 of 194 in York
325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 194 in York
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
1.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#34 of 194 in York
412 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing