We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blakeney House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
194
34
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfresh milkguest houseguest loungeowners markcity centrehelpful hostsregular bus serviceeach morningbus stopeasy access to yorkoff street parkinga great place to stayfantastic breakfastfull englishghost walkclean tidy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a lovely 4 nights in this B & B. Ideally located for easy access to York and surrounding areas. Not too far to anywhere. Easy walk into York if you don't want to take the car. Mark and Louise are lovely - friendly and informative and will do anything they can to make your stay with them everything you want it to be. Car parking at the rear which is useful. They provide a communal fridge with fresh milk and bottles of water which is great for making a nice cuppa. It can also be used for your own supplies if necessary. Breakfast was everything you needed - juices, cereals, fresh fruit, toast and jam as well as anything cooked that you fancy plus a special each day. If you want more, just ask - they can't do enough for you. And if you need any information about the area, again, just ask - they have all the relevant leaflets at their fingertips. They also have a guest lounge if you don't want to sit in your room.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room to the rear which would be quieter
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank janice-g-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your detailed review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay ith us at Blakeney.

Many Thanks Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights in July 2014. This is one of the most comfortable small hotels I have stayed in in the UK. Everything was excellent; the room, breakfasts and friendliness of the owners. Nothing is too much for them. If ever I'm in York again I will certainly stay at Blakeney House another time.
Buses stop almost outside which are very handy for the short ride into York town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I am glad you all had a great time. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is inportant to us and I am glad you all enjoyed all aspects of your stay,

Many Thanks Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is such a convenient place to stay, close to the city centre, and with plenty of parking. The welcome was warm and informal, the room very comfortable - I especially appreciated the fresh milk in the fridge as an alterative to the ubiquitous uht. Breakfast was very good and the owners were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fanny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your positive view. It was great to talk with you. Take care.

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely hotel, very comfortable room, good shower, tasteful decor throughout; very welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts; great breakfasts; excellent location - 15 minutes walk to the city gate, 5 minute drive to Monks Cross retail estate, 5 minute drive to outer ring road.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in room 11 at the front of the house, and it was perfect.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank BobD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks Bob for your complimentry review. Room 11 is the newly reburbished Supierior room and proving to be a hit with our new and repeat guests.

Mark and I wish you all the best for your future resettlement.

Many Thanks Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A great place to stay and lots of options for gluten free diets (and even awareness of preventing cross-contamination!). Only about a 20 minute walk to the centre of York through a lovely, peaceful area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including the food. We do try to cater for all dietery requirements and cross contamination issues. With a good breakfast choice I hope there is always something for everyone.

Many Thanks

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews