We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts, comfortable accommodation, great breakfasts!”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #36 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts, comfortable accommodation, great breakfasts!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Mark & Louise are fantastic! So friendly - and I much enjoyed talking to Mark about his research into his Grandfathers Boer War/WW1 army service. I hope,Mark, that you are eventually able to solve the mystery of the name change! As for our room (12), very comfortable beds and extremely clean. The members of our party (daughter, son-in-law, grandson with partner and grand-daughters/ one with partner, `other` grandfather/grandmother) were also extremely pleased with everything. Well done Mark and Louise - you provide a very good all round service and thoroughly deserve to succeed in your undertaking! Maybe, just maybe, we will return to York and visit you again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KureGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family staying with us.

Also the lovely butterfly thank you card is wonderful.

Take care Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    33
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
116
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a lovely small guest house - conveniently located for the centre of York with off street parking. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are excellent. Very comfortable and quiet and extremely well equipped including free wifi. They serve a fantastic breakfast and overall I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of our b&b and hospitality. Breakfast is an important part of the experience and I am pleased you enjoyed it so much.

Many Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, england
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a lovely 4 nights in this B & B. Ideally located for easy access to York and surrounding areas. Not too far to anywhere. Easy walk into York if you don't want to take the car. Mark and Louise are lovely - friendly and informative and will do anything they can to make your stay with them everything you want it to be. Car parking at the rear which is useful. They provide a communal fridge with fresh milk and bottles of water which is great for making a nice cuppa. It can also be used for your own supplies if necessary. Breakfast was everything you needed - juices, cereals, fresh fruit, toast and jam as well as anything cooked that you fancy plus a special each day. If you want more, just ask - they can't do enough for you. And if you need any information about the area, again, just ask - they have all the relevant leaflets at their fingertips. They also have a guest lounge if you don't want to sit in your room.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room to the rear which would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice-g-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay ith us at Blakeney.

Many Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights in July 2014. This is one of the most comfortable small hotels I have stayed in in the UK. Everything was excellent; the room, breakfasts and friendliness of the owners. Nothing is too much for them. If ever I'm in York again I will certainly stay at Blakeney House another time.
Buses stop almost outside which are very handy for the short ride into York town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
I am glad you all had a great time. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is inportant to us and I am glad you all enjoyed all aspects of your stay,

Many Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is such a convenient place to stay, close to the city centre, and with plenty of parking. The welcome was warm and informal, the room very comfortable - I especially appreciated the fresh milk in the fridge as an alterative to the ubiquitous uht. Breakfast was very good and the owners were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fanny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your positive view. It was great to talk with you. Take care.

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely hotel, very comfortable room, good shower, tasteful decor throughout; very welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts; great breakfasts; excellent location - 15 minutes walk to the city gate, 5 minute drive to Monks Cross retail estate, 5 minute drive to outer ring road.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in room 11 at the front of the house, and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank BobD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks Bob for your complimentry review. Room 11 is the newly reburbished Supierior room and proving to be a hit with our new and repeat guests.

Mark and I wish you all the best for your future resettlement.

Many Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A great place to stay and lots of options for gluten free diets (and even awareness of preventing cross-contamination!). Only about a 20 minute walk to the centre of York through a lovely, peaceful area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including the food. We do try to cater for all dietery requirements and cross contamination issues. With a good breakfast choice I hope there is always something for everyone.

Many Thanks

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#40 of 192 in York
320 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
1,370 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
355 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
726 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#18 of 192 in York
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Property: Blakeney House
Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing