We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #37 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was an excellent example of a 4 star (Visit Britain) establishment. The room (11) was both comfortable and clean. Very tastefully decorated with very nice fixtures and fittings. The shower was excellent and towels were lovely. Wi-fi was good. Brilliant parking at the back of the property was a bonus. Easy flat walk into York, took us about 25 mins and very easy to hop on a bus from just down the road, the bus service is excellent. Taxis were well priced at about £6.
Louise and Mark couldn't have been friendlier or more welcoming as were the lovely young staff.
Breakfast is served in a lovely airy room with buffet and hot breakfast cooked to order. Everything we had was great and they do specials too. The bed and bedding were of excellent quality and so comfy. A lovely touch is the fresh milk provided in the guest fridge on the landing.

Room Tip: Room 11 is spacious and tastefully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintage1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely informative review. Our guests comfort and enjoyment are very important to us.

I am pleased you had such a lovely time.
Many thanks

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    33
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
114
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as a treat for our 30th anniversary, cannot thank Mark and Louise enough the hotel was lovely the service they provide is 2nd to none, the location is handy for the town centre, especially if like us you don't mind walking, although there is a bus service close by. Lousie makes you feel welcome from the minute you walk through the door, the room we had was clean tidy with en suite shower, they provided, cold water and extra milk, along with the complimentary tea and coffee already in the room. The breakfast were excellent, with a choice of cooked along with fruit and various cereals, I would highly recommend this guest house .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am pleased to hear we helped make your anniversary so enjoyable. Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation.

Many Thanks

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here in between 4-5 of August whilst visiting relatives in York centre.

We stayed in room 11 which was newly refurbished and I have to say, The nicest B and B room we have ever stayed in. The bathroom was neatly finished and imaculately clean. The bedroom area was also neatly presented and cleaned to a very high standard. Even the little touches such as cookies, coco late wafers and marshmallows left next to the kettle made us grin from ear to ear.

We took our 21 month old son and he was well catered for including a provided travel cot and tailored breakfasts which was no trouble to ask Mark and Louise for. The adult breakfasts are to die for.

There is a communal fridge that is stocked with milk and fresh water and you have enough room to store your
own drinks in.

The house is a 20 minute walk into the centre of York but there are two nice pubs a short distance from the guest house. If you don't fancy the walk, the bus stops right outside the house or your car is litreally right outside in the car park which is big enough to hold all guest cars without having to worry about being penned in.

All in all our stay was comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YanandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful detailed review. Room 11 is our Superior room and proving a hit with regular and new guests, it has a comfy kingsize bed and a sofa to relax in. We work hard to keep our cleaning to a high standard and am pleased you appriated it so much.

Our car park generally accodates all our guests cars,(and it is free!) but on the few occasions it doesn't there is also good on street parking around the building.

Mark and I look forward to you staying with us again.

Many Thanks

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilkeston uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The Hosts at the Blakeney, Louise and Mark can't do enough to make your stay pleasurable, it was a joy to stay. The Hotel is very well presented, in a quiet location, on a local bus route and also within walking distance to the City centre. The bedrooms are very well equipped with all your needs, fresh milk and chilled water whenever you need it, comfortable beds, spotless and quiet.
A good breakfast finishes the package off.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bertieIlkestonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you had such an enjoyble stay and really enjoyed the breakfasts.

Many Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've stayed, this year, at two indifferent, one excellent and one rather poor B and B. This is the one that shows all the others how it should be done. Mark and Louise were most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them to meet our wishes. The room was well appointed and the hotel is perfectly placed on the bus route into York. The breakfast was fantastic: a splendid fruit salad, a choice of flavoured yoghurts, a good range of cereals and an excellent choice of cooked dishes to follow. All outstanding, thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is good to know that we are getting things right.

Many Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Mark & Louise are fantastic! So friendly - and I much enjoyed talking to Mark about his research into his Grandfathers Boer War/WW1 army service. I hope,Mark, that you are eventually able to solve the mystery of the name change! As for our room (12), very comfortable beds and extremely clean. The members of our party (daughter, son-in-law, grandson with partner and grand-daughters/ one with partner, `other` grandfather/grandmother) were also extremely pleased with everything. Well done Mark and Louise - you provide a very good all round service and thoroughly deserve to succeed in your undertaking! Maybe, just maybe, we will return to York and visit you again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KureGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family staying with us.

Also the lovely butterfly thank you card is wonderful.

Take care Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a lovely small guest house - conveniently located for the centre of York with off street parking. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are excellent. Very comfortable and quiet and extremely well equipped including free wifi. They serve a fantastic breakfast and overall I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of our b&b and hospitality. Breakfast is an important part of the experience and I am pleased you enjoyed it so much.

Many Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#39 of 192 in York
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,353 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
2.2 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#41 of 192 in York
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Property: Blakeney House
Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing