We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
198
34
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest lounge guest house city centre bus stop each morning off street parking great hosts a great place to stay full english ghost walk black pudding set us up for the day excellent breakfast on arrival bath and shower visiting york bottled water
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I always check out Trip Advisor before booking into a previously unvisited hotel - the Blakeney certainly lived up to the recommendations. Tom Whiteford - proprietor was a fount of knowledge on York and enthusiastically covered all aspects of transportation into the city and its main attractions.
The hotel was comfortable, well appointed, spotlessly clean and all services were efficiently carried out. There was a good menu choice in the restaurant with an adequate (and reasonably priced) wine list. The full breakfast certainly set us up for the day ahead.
I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This has been our third stay there and each time we stay the staff are always friendly and helpful.The food is excellent. The Blakeney is very clean and a 30 minute walk to the town centre or a short bus ride. I would highly reccomend this place.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaladixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

What a fantastic little gem we found when we recently stayed at this establishment! My son, my parents and I were visiting York for a family occasion and stayed here. The proprietor was such a pleasant chap who took time to tell us all we needed to know to get around in York at the outset of our stay. Blakeney House is ideally situated, only a 20 minute stroll into York and is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are lovely and are spotlessly clean. The food is absolutely wonderful and beautifully presented. If you are looking for the perfect location and lovely surroundings you must come here!! I will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We spent an enjoyable weekend at the Blackeney House & Restaurant hotel whilst visiting York. On arrival we were welcomed by the owner Tom Whiteford who had a nice friendly disposition. The bedrooms were most comfortable with all the little extras that one would expect in a four star hotel. It had a quiet longe and small bar area adjoining the large restaurant which catered for all tastes in its menu. The presentation and quality of the food was excellent. Ample car parking space was provided at the rear of the hotel. York Minster could be reached easily by bus or taxi or by a leisurely stroll of about 20 minutes.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergieBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews