We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!!”
Review of York Maze

York Maze
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.68*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #6 of 206 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: York Maze is an a-maizing day out for the whole family. The attraction is based around a giant maze, made from maize plants. We open during the school summer holidays,to give families an amazing day out. With over 20 different rides and attractions, the kids will be kept busy for the whole day! York Maze also runs halloween events for families in the daytime, and teenagers and adults at night during the Halloween half term. We finish the year with a huge firework spectacular set to music, on November the 5th every year. When we are not open to the public, we host weddings in our beautiful barn comlex. It's the perfect setting for a rustic wedding!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“So much fun!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We went today and cant believe we live 10minutes away and have never been before! Our son(who didn't want to go in the beginning) loved it and we will be going back next year for sure!
We will be taking our own food though as its quite expensive and not a great selection for children!
The pig racing was so much fun, the crowmania tractor ride was good and refreshing on a hot day and the house of confusion was just that!
Our son spent a good time in the sandpit and enjoyed getting soaked while playing with the large catapults that you fire water balloons from!
All in all a good fun filled day

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keeley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,387
    319
    88
    24
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We took our granddaughter for her seventh birthday. We had so much fun, there is so many things to do and we laughed so much our sides hurt. Yes the maze is good but the other attractions at the maze are fab and funny. They made my granddaughters day very special with a free ice cream and a medal for the pig race even though she lost. Fab entertainment fun and friendly staff made it a great day out. Loads of picnic areas too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie02102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“House of Confusion- simply the best!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Lovely day out, all the staff were friendly and very helpful. Would recommend it for anyone with children of any age. The best bit by far was the house of confusion as the title states simply the best. Especially the Charlie and the chocolate factory corridor. Whoever designed that can't wait to see what they come up with for Halloween!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Country G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Value?”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Think this is 4th time we have visited this attraction, for our 9yr old grandson excellent value, but for us 2 (oldies) and a 2yr old not an awful lot to do, could do with more for the younger children, the price of the ices was very expensive (last week we had been to another childrens centre and the price of the icecreams was brill ranging from 50p to cornettos at £1.30) the cheapest at York was £1.65!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirepudding64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing very commercial”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Took the two grandchildren for the day. Kids did enjoy it but the maze was too large for a 4 and 7 year old to complete on a hot day. The big down side was after paying £32 to get in much was at additional cost such as a map of the maze at £1.50 although refundable if not opened,Paying for the electric quad bikes and the balloon shoot. There are not many real attractions just play equipment similar to any public park and a sand pit area. Would recommend as kids enjoyed it but for adults it was a long and unexpectedly expensive day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GimletEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Maze also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing