We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out”
Review of York Maze

York Maze
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.99*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #6 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: York Maze is an a-maizing day out for the whole family. The attraction is based around a giant maze, made from maize plants. We open during the school summer holidays,to give families an amazing day out. With over 20 different rides and attractions, the kids will be kept busy for the whole day! York Maze also runs halloween events for families in the daytime, and teenagers and adults at night during the Halloween half term. We finish the year with a huge firework spectacular set to music, on November the 5th every year. When we are not open to the public, we host weddings in our beautiful barn comlex. It's the perfect setting for a rustic wedding!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We took our 8 year old son here while staying in York. He was not expecting to enjoy it, not realising how much there is to do. Turns out he loved it, we stayed there all day and he wanted to go back. Well done York Maze on making not just a exceptional maze but to providing so much more to see and do. We would definitely go again.
My husband was particularly impressed to see a senior member of staff go out of his way to pick up some litter on the floor. All staff were helpful, happy and friendly.
A great day out all round, not sure how good it would be in the rain, but apart from that, well done York Maze!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,246
    304
    84
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Such a friendly and fun-packed day for all ages.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It's not often we visit attractions and end up with a 2 year-old that wants to locate the owner and thank them personally but on this occasion that was the result - Farmer Tom, Kernel Kernel and Sweetie managed to completely enamour my daughter as soon as we entered and continued to do so days afterwards as she recounted stories of all the fun she had. Not only this but her parents also took away fun experiences and a general feeling that all the staff were genuinely happy to share the day with you.

I became aware of the maze years ago when it first opened but, to my loss, only visited for the first time last week, I was impressed by the range of activities on offer for all ages and the attention to detail across the whole site. The "wow factor" is often missing from places like this but the maze manages to pack this alongside the kind of charm usually associated with a much smaller site. Once on site the cost of items such as drinks, food, souvenirs and "extras" is very reasonable but more importantly the quality is excellent. The food from the BBQ area deserves particular praise.

We didn't spend the whole day on site due to the little one getting tired but with careful planning you could easily get there first thing and leave at closing time without running out of things to do - some duplication may happen but this is a bonus rather than a necessity as the fun isn't limited to just one go.

Of particular note the tractor ride was a lot of fun for all of us and now my daughter insists of trying to chase crows away in the same style taught on the day.

All in all a wonderful place for a day out with lots of outdoor and covered seated, masses of grass space, plenty to see and most importantly lots to get hands-on with. You may end up slightly wet at the end of it all if you get stuck in but unlike the memories from a day here this will dry and disappear quickly.

Bravo to everyone involved with York Maze.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happytapeworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A brill day out- if the weather is good!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

spent all day here and it was lovely and sunny. i think if its raining you need to avoid as most of it is outside... the day was brilliant there is so much to do and the kids loved it. it cost us £70 to get in but that was for 4 adults and 3 children (one under 3) so about £12 each but so worth it. if u take a picnic thats all u spend. the crowmania was the biggest laugh. staff should be pleased its a lovely day

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Loads to do as well as the maze, something for everyone. Bit expensive but good value, get there early for a good day out.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent family day out very clean Park lots to keep you busy for a full day will go back regularly

Helpful?
Thank Leemc7y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Maze also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing