We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon out for big kids”
Review of York Maze

York Maze
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.31*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #6 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: York Maze is an a-maizing day out for the whole family. The attraction is based around a giant maze, made from maize plants. We open during the school summer holidays,to give families an amazing day out. With over 20 different rides and attractions, the kids will be kept busy for the whole day! York Maze also runs halloween events for families in the daytime, and teenagers and adults at night during the Halloween half term. We finish the year with a huge firework spectacular set to music, on November the 5th every year. When we are not open to the public, we host weddings in our beautiful barn comlex. It's the perfect setting for a rustic wedding!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Purley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out for big kids”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we went late afternoon on a day with a poor forecast which meant there weren't many folk there. Took 3 adult kids and we all had a ball.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank acsn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,246
    304
    84
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Read plenty of reviews before I went- but have to say there was plenty for my 8 and 4 year old sons to do. Plenty of seating areas, well priced refreshments, plenty of wasp killer things to keep them at bay.

Helpful?
2 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but a great experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have been to York Maze many times, as we live very close to York Maze. Every year the design of the maze is different, and it is always original and never gets boring. There are lots of activities in the centre including an illusion part, inflatable slides, tractor rides and lots more.
However, it is always expensive to get in and the food is very overpriced. Also, you have to pay for some of the activities.
Overall, I would recommend the maze as a day out but don't come if you are only staying for 2-3 hours as to make your moneys worth you need to stay the whole day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best days out in York!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We live fairly close to the York Maze and for the past few years have gone every year.

Cannot recommend it as a day out enough this year we went with some friends and went down a storm.

Highlights have to be the Bouncy pillow, the water balloons and off course the maze which is just brilliant fun!!

One slight downer, this year when we went in we thought it was quite expensive nearly £10 per head.

But!!! There is one thing that I have to comment on and give a massive gold star for and that is the food!!

The food that they do is amazing, and other attractions should take note of the selection and quality that they do. Especal point needs to be made about childrens food which is the pick 5 items etc.. The selection that they offer for kids is brilliant.

Already looking forward to next years visit!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andymcm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Loved it here, even though it was quite busy, there's so much space and so much to do that there was very little queuing and always an empty picnic bench free! My 2 boys (7 and 5) particularly loved the quad bikes and the cobstacle course and the staff couldn't have been friendlier! Warning: really take note of the recommendations of Kernels house - don't go in if you have vertigo, it does make you feel weird! Very cleverly done! We took a picnic but will try out the BBQ next time as it looked and smelt delicious and reasonably priced too. Highly recommend this venue!

Helpful?
2 Thank Godd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Maze also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing