We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun thing to do in the warmer months.”
Review of York Maze

York Maze
Ranked #6 of 165 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: York Maze is an a-maizing day out for the whole family. The attraction is based around a giant maze, made from maize plants. We open during the school summer holidays,to give families an amazing day out. With over 20 different rides and attractions, the kids will be kept busy for the whole day! York Maze also runs Halloween events for families in the daytime, and teenagers and adults at night during the Halloween half term. We finish the year with a huge firework spectacular set to music, on November the 5th every year. When we are not open to the public, we host weddings in our beautiful barn complex. It's the perfect setting for a rustic wedding!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 26 January 2018

I've been going here since a kid and it's great fun getting lost (although hopefully not to lost) in the maze. It can take a few hours to start working it out!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank richt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pig racing"
in 310 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 340 reviews
"bouncy pillow"
in 83 reviews
"crow mania"
in 46 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 92 reviews
"quad bikes"
in 54 reviews
"fun house"
in 29 reviews
"halloween event"
in 28 reviews
"inflatable obstacle course"
in 24 reviews
"plenty of picnic tables"
in 24 reviews
"all ages"
in 190 reviews
"great family day"
in 86 reviews
"great fun"
in 142 reviews
"value for money"
in 120 reviews
"sand pit"
in 27 reviews
"other attractions"
in 63 reviews
"family ticket"
in 47 reviews
Filter

280 - 284 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

Go with my family and extended family year after year for at least 5 years now, and only get more and more impressed each time.
The maze is always huge, and really impressive, and the themes are amazing. The clues throughout the maze are so much fun, i've never been bored by a maze, but it's never so hard you're stuck for hours, really great for kids.
The extra attractions are what makes it for me however. The bouncing pillow is my favourite part, never been on anything like it. They have pig racing, with team colours and prizes if you bid on the winning pig. The illusions room is really great, was really impressed when that was introduced. They have some great interactive stuff like painting, and a tractor ride you get wet on, including shooting another tractor full of people along the way.
The food they have available is usually really good, and the gift shop is nice too. Couldn't recommend anywhere else for a family day out - especially during the hot weather.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank CharlotteL3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Brought the kids during the summer day and they all loved it. So much to do. And it’s very well priced. The food isn’t the best but never are at these places in all honesty. Best just packing food up for yourself.
Would recommend

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank gemmahull82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We travel about an hour to go to York Maze but it was 100% worth it!! We took our dog with us which was great because not many places allow dogs in.

When we went to the Mazes it was a Star Wars theme, so all of the corn has been cut into the shape of characters from the film. Along the way they had a quiz with clues, so as you walked through the maze you had to solve the riddles to work about hidden message by the end of the maze.

I really enjoyed the day out and the dog definitely did, so we will be going back no question!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We got the first slot intake period at 7am for Hallowscream and just as well because whilst there were hardly any queues for the first few "mazes" but by 8.30 the place was packed. Even though the time slot is in 40 minutes - it probably won't take you 40 minutes to get round everything - so its best not to get there too late. All the different mazes were "themed" from the futuristic 2073 to the butchery of the Flesh Pot. All the mazes involved going from room to room not knowing what to expect next as actors jumped either jumped out or something or other went bang. One or two of the mazes involved crouching and/or feeling disorientated. Overall, the mazes were quite long and well designed taking roughly 10-15 minutes each and there was things to do outside of the mazes with the live show and the virtual reality zombie headsets.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Maze also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing