We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bed width off perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just a bed width off perfect!”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Have always stayed in Holiday Inns proper as I do enjoy my breakfast. However stayed in this Express due to its location next ( almost ) to the Monks Cross Park and Ride into York.
So how did it compare? Very well indeed.
We were warmly welcomed and effeciently booked in. Had ask for a quiet room and that is what we got - just seconds from the reception area. All the staff we came across were very friendly and made us feel special.
The room was fine but why, oh why do Holiday Inns still just have double beds when just about all the other chains ( including budget ) have king size. The room lighting is strange. Can't have the desk lamp on without the main ceiling light being on . Pain if your partner is sleeping but you want to work at the desk. Other than those slight quibbles the room was fine and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast is much better than it used to be as they now have a small hot option as well as the usual continental. We had sausges, scrambled eggs and baked beans on both mornings. I believe sometimes the sausages are replaced by bacon. The breakfast area was kept spotlessly clean and all the fod constantly topped up by more friendly staff.
All in all it was a place I would highly recommend if your visiting York. Just a bed size short of being perfect!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colmac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareMcleod, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. I have already passed them onto both staff and General Manager. I have asked for a review into the size of the beds, to see if we could have these increased insize.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Clare Mcleod
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    236
    99
    23
    13
See reviews for
148
229
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights and found it fantastic value for money, the rooms were lovely, comfy beds, very clean and a great breakfast!! 10 out of 10! I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareMcleod, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express York

Clare Mcleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Stayed 2 nights with my husband and 2 sons. Arrived quite late in the evening, but check in was manned and checked in with no problems. Room was a good size and clean. The sofa bed was already made up for the kids. Although I had booked the room for 4, there were only 3 towels and 2 cups, which was a bit odd. Beds weren't too comfortable, could feel the slats in the sofa bed through the mattress and the double bed was so soft that when one person turned over, the other person shot up in the air! The other issue we experienced was the shower went very hot and then very cold. We experienced this the first morning, but it was fine the second, but it made showering the kids difficult. Breakfast was included in the price of the room booking, and it was great - a range of cereal, croissants and pain au chocolate, fruit, yogurts, sausages and scramble eggs, plus a choice of hot and cold drinks. There is an ice machine in the lobby, so we were able to enjoy a bottle of wine in our room. We used the park and ride into the city, took about 10 minutes, cost £2.30 per adult and ran until 8.05pm. Every member of staff that we met were friendly and hard working, especially the girl with the long dark hair who was in the breakfast room both mornings, and the assistant manager, Clare, who seemed to muck in with everything. Really enjoyed trip to York overall, and was satisfied with the hotel, though it world be great if they bought some new beds and upgraded the showers.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We had a 2 night break and cannot fault it !
On arrival reception staff were very friendly, very helpful and had a nice smile for us (cant remember his name, my bad !). Our room was very clean, the bed was VERY comfortable and really cant fault the room.
Yes ok, so Breakfast room is small but breakfast is staggered over the weekend. I think they started somewhere around 6:30am till about 10:30 (off the top of my head). We personally never had a problem and even if we couldnt get a table you are welcome to take breakfast to your room. Breakfast was ok, you could have sausages, scrambled egg, cereals, coissants, yoghurts, fruit, toast etc. I think Beans would have been a nice extra though not for me but there were a few big kids(my hubby), who likes beans !!
Hotel was perfect location for us. On the outskirts of town, so on a night it was quiet. The park and ride is just a few mins drive from the hotel and it was £2.30 each to get into town and the bus runs every 10 mins.
We had a great weekend, lots to do in the area and we would certainly go back here next time we visit York !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The room we had (123) was clean and it looked like it had been freshened up.The carpet was clean and fairly new looking the bed was nice and comfortable with a choice of soft or hard pillows. Bathroom was nice and clean and fresh, towels nice and white, plenty of hot water.Breakfast is adequate for what you pay, and the use of the coffee machine at any hour of the day or night was helpful.Staff were friendly and efficient and anything we required was not a problem.
The only slight down side of this hotel for me was the location but I knew that prior to booking (we were staying with friends).I like to park the car up and walk round the city if I can. The solution to this is to take the car the half mile down the road to the Park and Ride and leave it there.Parking is free if you use the park and ride service.
We dined at the Toby Carvery next door on the Friday night it gets very busy between 5pm and 7pm when the special offer is on.
Taxi into town on the Saturday night was around £8 each way.
Definately would consider staying here if returning to York again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Ok this is a motel and not a hotel. There were a number of faults at this Hotel. The pressure of the shower. No hot water. A room heater that died and when repaired had no thermostat. Breakfast each morning was the same minimal fayre, egg and sausage. Room was OK, but nothing luxurious. Staff obliging but minimal service, especially given I am a high ranking Intercontinental Hotels loyalty card holder.

BUT

Its in a great location for York, motorways and driving into North Yorkshire and the East Coast.

It offered incredible value at £25 a night for 2 people including breakfast.

Room was old but clean.

This is a motel and at £25 BB per night it simply cannot be beaten, even though we had problems. It is being refitted shortly and I suspect many of the problems will be fixed. So at £25 for 2 people inc breakfast, it offers tremendous vale for money, close to York and the motorway system.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

If you are looking for a hotel near to York with easy access across the county this is it, just off the A64 and next to the Toby inn. This will have been our fifth visit, the staff alre always pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean and what you would expect from a holidayinn express in the UK. The addition of a bar area is a plus for those that fancy a night cap and don't want to go into the Toby which gets very busy at times and seating is at a premium. Would we stay again - yes.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k1of2ksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,278 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
3.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing