We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
B+B York(York)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
218
261
108
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
261
108
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoby carverypark and ridemonks crossretail parktoby innbeansroom was cleanthe breakfast areasofa bedminute drivefree breakfastcity centrewould stay againring roadyogurton arrivalno air con
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here two nights Sept 9/10th '011, and having read some reviews prior to arriving we were wondering what to expect. OUR HONEST view of our stay was that the room was spotlessy clean, everything worked, the bed which some have complained about was very comfortable and was remade each day.Would def.stay here again!! The park & ride is about 5 mins from the hotel and the return fare is £2-30pp, but one point,the last buses return at 2000.Cheap fuel(asda) is about 5 mins away. Parking is very good and close to the hotel as is the Toby carvery, where you can obtain good meals at good prices. The reason our review is entitled as it is, do some just go away to find faults ?? Looking forward to a longer return stay & visiting beautiful York again.

Room Tip: Two floors, no noise above your head if you can go upstairs
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

TV's due for renewel after switch over to digital which will make a big difference if you don't go out at night. Staff very helpful. Buffet breakfast OK

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iskinner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

While the hotel was in a good position (about a 10-15 minute drive to the city centre and next door to a pub/restaurant) the hotel was very tired-looking. The walls were so thin we could hear everything from both neighbours! The sink in the bathroom smelt of drains and the shower curtain needed to be replaced. The bed was fairly comfortable and the room was pretty clean. The breakfast area was small and we had to wait for a table a couple of mornings. The car park was free and the staff were friendly so that was good. I probably wouldn't stay here again - not until it's had a refurb anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here as a family for two nights. The hotel is well located for visiting York by car, as it is only a couple of minutes' drive from a park and ride, which then only takes about 10 minutes to go into the centre - much simpler, and no doubt cheaper, than trying to drive in. People staying without a car would find it a bit harder as the road between the park and ride and the hotel is busy and doesn't really have a footpath.
NOTE: The postcode on the HI website is incorrect for finding the hotel! We got lost and rang up - you need YO32 9TG...
The hotel itself is very average for a HIE. Our room had the typical layout but was smaller than many we have been in before, so was very cramped with two adults and two children in. The breakfast area is also small - on our second morning, we had to wait as all the tables were full when we arrived. (I counted the tables at this point; there are 15 tables altogether, some only seating two, for this 49 room hotel, and certainly on both mornings we were there, it was very crowded at the time when most tourists would be eating breakfast).
Having said that, the standards of cleanliness and attention in the hotel were high. The room was very clean and we were provided with plenty of towels for everyone; extra pillows were provided on request. The double bed was very comfortable and the sofa bed was reasonable as well. The food in the breakfast area was replenished conscientiously and staff were equally careful to keep the food area clean and tidy.
We would stay here again in future, but would probably put up with the extra expense and book two rooms if staying more than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrowmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the York Holiday Inn Express on a 2 nights for the price of one and on that basis it was very good value at £70 for 2 nights. On the down side the rooms and starting to look a little tired and beds are getting a bit soft. The breakfast is the normal Holiday Inn Express deal with now beans added to the hot choices of sausage and egg, it saves time and money looking else where to eat.
Next to the hotel is a Toby Carvery which again is ok but be warned each night we went in it was very busy and cannot be booked in advance. If you want to eat on the daytime rate of £5.50 for the carvery make sure your in by 6pm.
Just up the road there is the park and ride which is great value and the kids ride for free.
Also close by is a large retail park with Asda and Sainsbury's for fuel and food needs.
In summery if you book for a good price this hotel is fine just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews