We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Hotel at None Budget Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel at None Budget Price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

A last minute decision to visit York, I searched the internet for one night's accommodation. Most hotels were full however this one still had vacancies and I now know why. At £120 I expected rather more than a budget hotel but was sadly disappointed. The room was clean but in need of a refurb. Pillows had a ribbon stating soft or firm which I thought was good however there should have been one on the bed stating soft and uncomfortable and you will roll into the centre! Breakfast was basic and scambled egg and beans were awful. Staff however were friendly.

Overall is was budget level and should have been priced around the £60 mark. I shall not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigmyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback posted after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express York.
I am sorry you did not feel the hotel was upto the standard you were expecting.
I do wish that you had brought the uncomfortableness of the bed to my attention during your stay; the Reception team would have been more than accommodating in moving you rooms.
I am sorry you did not enjoy the free Express Start breakfast given to all our guests; we offer a choice of four cereals, toast, croissants, pain au chocolat, bread rolls, flavoured & natural yoghurts, fresh fruits, sausages, beans and scrambled egg, as well as a selection of hot and cold beverages, so I am sorry you felt that this was still basic and not of high quality. We use any food feedback constructively with our suppliers to maintain a high standard that guests have come to expect. This feedback will be shared with them.
I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and have passed these comments on to the team.
I do hope we see you again at Holiday Inn Express York and that a future stay will be of better enjoyment.

Kind regards

Andrew Wrench
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    231
    98
    23
    13
See reviews for
145
225
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Booked 8 rooms here as a family get together. The staff were very helpful in helping me with arrangements. Room was clean and everything satisfactory for the price. There is a Park & Ride nearby that we used during the daytime to go into the city and taxi in the evening.
Breakfast is not brilliant but is included in price. This was not a major problem for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express York.
am pleased that you felt the value for money was 5 out of 5, and that you found our staff helpful in assisting you with your group reservation.
I am pleased to see that you took advantage of the free Express Start breakfast, and am sorry that you did not feel it was up to the high standard you had come to expect.
We pride ourselves on the quality and variety of the breakfast options, so any feedback recieved is used constructively to improve on this.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to se you and your family here at Holiday Inn Express York again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Wrench
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

although very cheap generally have been in a lot better budget hotels indeed better hol inn express's.room was clean albeit beds very uncomfortable.breakfast was very poor.on the plus side staff were nice

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTSTEELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Express York.
I am sorry you felt your stay was not to the high standard you have come to expect at Holiday Inn Express hotels, and that you found your bed to be uncomforatble. Whilst we pride ourselves on the quality of your hotel rooms, we appreciate that all guests' requirements are different, and have taken the comments on board with regards to the beds.
I am pleased that you found the staff at the hotel friendly, but was sorry to hear that you found the free Express Start breakfast to be poor. Our free breakfast consists of four cereals, toast, bread rolls, croissants, pain au chocolat, fruit & natural yoghurts, fresh fruit and a wide selection of hot and cold beverages, and we take feedback on food comments constructively, and share them with our suppliers.

Once again, thank you for your comments and staying at Holiday Inn Express York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Wrench
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here over half term for one night and we booked a family room. The family room was small the beds were uncomfortable and the children slept on a sofa bed, the lamps in the room were dusty but nothing could compare to the dreadful canteen service at breakfast and the food. It was just awful, the scrambled egg tasted foul. It was not at all nice and we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your comments on Holiday Inn Express York.
I am sorry you found our family rooms to be small; all our rooms are designed to the Intercontinental Hotel Group's brand standards that you would find in a similar Holiday Inn Express. Our family rooms consist of a double bed and a sofa-bed as advertised. I am sorry you felt the room was not up to the high cleanliness standard you have come to expect in a Holiday Inn Express; I have addressed these issues with the Housekeeping team and reiterated the importance of attention to detail.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your free Express Start breakfast the following morning. I was not made aware of your unhappiness of the breakfast, especially the scrambled egg and have passed the feedback on to our food supplier for them to use constructively. There are a variety of other food items to choose from on the Express Start breakfast, so I do hope that this does not deter you in the future.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Wrench
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee,Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

The staff at this hotel were mainly very good. It is easy to drive into centre from here.The rooms have everything you need. Unfortunately ours also had the previous guest's boxers! Despite alerting housekeeping they were not moved and my husband eventually binned them.Our bin was also full when we first entered the room. Not a great selection at breakfast or at the bar. However we were out and about a lot so on the whole our stay was fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Mari08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express York.
I am extremely sorry about the letdown in Housekeeping service during your stay.
I have addressed the importance of guest requests with the whole team and have reiterated the importance of fulfilling requests once these have been highlighted.
I am sorry you did not feel our Express Start breakfast did not have a wide selection; we pride ourselves on the breakfast being free to all guests, and it consisting of over 4 cereals, 3 hot items (sausages, baked beans and scrambled egg), croissants, pain au chocolat, toast, bread rolls, natural and flavoured yoghurts, fresh fruit and a wide selection of hot and cold beverages. The Express Start breakfast is continuously replenished and I have reiterated to the Breakfast team the importance that this serves.
Our in-house bar has recently been refurbished and a wider variety of stock has been sourced.
I do hope you choose to visit us again and sample the extra items.

Kind regards

Andrew Wrench
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed here for a hen weekend.

On checking in we were warned about noise levels. A little surprised as not really a rowdy gand anyway.

Placed toward the rear of the hotel

Rooms clean and basic could be a little more spacious

Bus stop outside hotel and easy to get into york town

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen789_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express York.
I am sorry you were instantly warned about noise levels; I do believe the Reception staff at the time would not have done this as malicously as you felt at the time. We would like all guests to enjoy their time here just as much as each other.
I am glad you found the rooms to be cleaned, and all our room sizes follow a strict brand standard guideline for Intercontinental HotelsGroup.
I am pleased that you found the bus stop into York and there is also a Park and Ride service 1 mile from the Hotel which runs every 10 minutes between 8am and 8pm.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back at Holiday Inn Express York shortly!

Kind regards

Andrew Wrench
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Very good. Usual Holiday Inn standard ~ Clean and comfy.

Slight downside was that if you want to have a drink in York its £6 each way in a cab.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Express York.
I am glad that you found the hotel to be of the good standard you have come to expect of Holiday Inn Express.
Whilst the hotel is not advertised as City Centre, it is only 10 minutes away by taxi, or if you would prefer not to pay the £6 taxi fare, there is a bus stop 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the buses run upto approx 11pm. Monks Cross Park & Ride is 1 mile from the hotel and has a return service upto 8pm on an evening.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Wrench
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing