We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a short break in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Wernau, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short break in York”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked the Holiday Inn Express when visiting for a family celebration close to York and found it an ideal choice for our requirements. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet and all the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a good breakfast on the days we were there and could also sit down with family members at the bar in the evening.
We had a meal in the nearby Toby Carvery on the first evening which we can recommend for a good and inexpensive roast dinner.
All in all, a positive experience and we would definitely have no hesitations in using this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    231
    98
    23
    13
See reviews for
145
225
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is our second stay at the hotel on our way home from visiting relatives in Scarborough. Nice friendly welcome and offer of assistance with luggage. Room in quiet area of hotel as requested and very clean and tidy. It is a personal thing but I cannot get to grips with the pillows, one is not enough and two are too many, must be me !!! Breakfast was good and I am sure that they have the same problem as everyone else - keeping scrambled eggs warm and in an appetising form must be difficult. However, all was good. Speedy check out and information regarding local amenities. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

If you're looking for a cheap and cheerful hotel and you have a car then this hotel is ideal.

The room was a standard holiday inn room, very clean, spacious with tea coffee facilities and a TV. The bathroom again was clean, no bath but big powerful hot shower.

There is plenty of complimentary parking. The hotel is a short distance fom York, too far to walk so you will need a car. If you are planning a day trip to the city centre then th park and ride is only a 2 minute drive away. However this service doesn't run very late so it was no good for us as we were staying out late in York. there is plenty of cheaper parking in e city after 6pm

The hotel is situated right next door to a Toby Carvery which is ideal for a cheap family meal. they also serve a cheap buffet breakfast if the hotel breakfast isn't substantial enough for you. There isn't much else around, there is a retail park nearby but from our experience the McDonald's closed in the evening so it isn't great for midnight munches!!

All in all a pleasant stay if you don't want to be paying the high hotel prices in the city centre. Close to the York ring road too so very easy to get to. I don't think you can ever go wrong with a holiday inn as long as you realise it's not going to be a luxurious stay. I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Maybe a back room away from the road, although our room was directly over the front door facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeeeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you are just looking for a comfortable base near to York then the Holiday Inn Express is more than sufficient. I booked us 2 nights for a trip to York to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

As others have said the hotel does look a little run down from the outside, but internally it is fine. The reception area is clean and the bar/restaurant area where breakfast is served is well maintained. The staff are also very friendly and more than happy to help, every staff member we encountered was great.

We were allowed to check in early at 12.00pm as our room was ready and unfortunately the first room we had (231) was situated over the reception/bar area and as I could hear the music from the reception area we asked to be moved, it was probably fine for a normal person but I have very sensitive hearing! We were moved no problem to another room 246 which was great. The bathroom had a good sized shower, but unfortunately no bath.

We visited York twice, by using the Monks Cross Park and Ride which is a 2-5 minute drive away and is £2.50 return for adults. There is also a Monks Cross Retail Park which is great for shopping if you fancy it! There is also a very big Asda with petrol station there.

We also had dinner on the Sunday evening in the Toby Carvery next door, again very nice and the food was good. Ideally situated if arrive and are tired and don't want to go further for your dinner! You can also order takeaways to come to the hotel and the reception staff will arrange this for you.

Overall a great hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not situation over the reception and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I booked this hotel fro me and my boyfriend for a weekend away in York, as he had a driving experience in Elvington. Compared to other places it was reasonably priced for 2 nights.
When arriving I was a bit apprehensive as it looked a little run down from the outside - however my thoughts were changed when entering the hotel. Very clean and tidy, lots of facilities and very friendly staff. The main issue I had was the hotel being clean as I have OCD and would have been cleaning constantly if it wasnt clean. I did not have to clean a thing - the room was spotless (apart from a small stain on the sofa bed). Bathroom was clean and the facilities in the room were great for a standard hotel, they had thought of everything. Staff very friendly and if you have forgotten any items they have their own and will provide you with them, they will also call restaurants to check availability for you. Breakfast was lovely and a wide selection - even though it stated continental they did have sausages and scrambled egg, as well as croissants, muffins, yoghurts, fruit and toast.
Although the hotel appeared to be in the middle of nowhere it actually was a few minutes drive to all the local amenities and was ideal for getting to Elvington. (A taxi into York cost us £7)The toby carvery next door allows you to not have to drive if you want to have a drink or have something to eat. We did not eat there but did visit for a few drinks. The car park gets very busy but we always found a space. A quiet hotel all in all even on a night time. Was very pleased and would stay again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Holiday Inn Express York is typical of most HIX's.

The room was a good size but could have been cleaned more thoroughly; there was quite a bit of dust in places. The desk and sofa set up was useful when splitting time between working and relaxing.

Breakfast was the usual continental choice with a limited hot offering too, although I was disappointed there were no bananas available.

The staff were fairly efficient and helpful but did not leave an impression on me.

The hotel location is near the outer ring road and close to Monks Cross shopping centre, so handy if you are travelling by car but not near the city centre.

Overall the hotel was fine but there was nothing outstanding that would draw me back here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey, North Wales
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very clean rooms , albeit a little small. Showers are very good for thus type of hotel. Comfy beds, very helpful staff and it is outside York city centre so is quiet enough to get a good night sleep.

Breakfast is fine- after all it saves paying for it! There is a Toby carvery next door which represents very good value for money if you don't fancy driving.

This is our second time here, and we would have no qualms about coming back for a third. Very good all round.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lugg2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
1,245 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,038 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing