We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good little hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A good little hotel.”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on a work training course. Quick and easy check in, breakfast good for a self serve buffet, and all staff very friendly. Even provided use of de-icer and ice scraper for my car. Only downside was toby carvery next door, rubbish food, but 2 mins drive to monks cross and pizza hut. A good no frills motel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightwishbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    231
    98
    23
    13
See reviews for
145
225
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

If you fancy bacon and tomatoes for breakfast then don't come here.

My partner and I stayed for one night and were fairly happy until we saw the breakfast. A limited choice and looked very sorry for itself.

The worst hotel breakfast choice I've ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear StevePaterson,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. It is pleasing to know that you found our location and rooms satisfactory for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you encountered with our breakfast choices. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance in the future to show you what we have done.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express York for a quick weekend break to see the York christmas markets. The Hotel is very reasonably priced and we felt we got extremely good value for money. Our double room was large, very clean, and extremely comfortable. everything we could want. beautiful bathroom and decent size, Tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV. Large comfortable double bed. Quiet. Breakfast was buffet style and the dining room was small. tea and coffee machines for drinks all free. Juice machines. Croissants, muffins, toast, scrambled eggs, sausages, cereal.

Free parking on site.
Toby Carvery next door
The main thing that really made our stay was the welcome from the staff, they really could not do enough for us.
The down side. It is a couple of miles into York on a busy road so you can't really walk it. Taxi are readily available from the reception and the Hotel has done a deal with a local Taxi firm so it costs £8 per trip.
We will definately stay again

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor looking out over fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margiegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

This was a perfect hotel for what we needed to make sure we could attend the St Nicholas fair, as everywhere else would not take a 1 night booking.
The hotel was under refurbishment when we arrived, however it didn't cause us any disturbance . We were in room 237 which was newly refurbished. It was immaculate and such a large room. The only downside was the power of the shower was more of a trickle, but warm water is better than nothing.
Debbie the lady on reception was a credit to the hotel and bent over backwards for everyone. Thank you :)
Breakfast was average but I waited 15 minutes for some sausages, beans and eggs to be cooked. Not the best but suppose it was better than a continental.
You can get a taxi from reception for a set fare of £8 into the city centre.
A wonderful weekend but defiantly need a week off to recover

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seekers08Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I arrived at this hotel mid evening having argued with my sat nav which insisted the hotel was located to Monks' Cross. In fairness it is, but it is located at the other end of the road where my sat nav was directing me.

On arrival I was greeted by a very helpful member of staff and I have to say the staff here are great.

The hotel is currently being refurbished so there was a little bit of disruption. I was disappointed that wifi was £10 for 24hours and the closest warm food is the neighbouring Toby Grill (dinner from £6).

This was the second Holiday Inn Express I had stayed at during the course of one week and this one was twice the price without including the cost of the wifi. I found it to be expensive for what it was.

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had a mini break to see our son at York Uni and stayed in the holiday inn express we had a good room and the breakfast was excellent but I must say all the staff in this hotel are the friendliest team I have ever come across from the manager down wards. On our second night the lights packed up, within five minutes we were moved to a second room. Well done to the whole team

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twdkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Visited the hotel on business, got give an room overlooking the far off road and directly by the entrance, so had to suffer hearing the conversations of muppets having a smoke.

Nice room and bathroom, very clean and a comfortable sleep

Breakfast was ok, but nothing special and included in the cost of the room

Room Tip: away from the entrance :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
1,245 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,038 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing