We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendl staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

overall a clean and inviting place to stay
spent 5 nights here on holiday from australia
the breakfast buffet was very nice and set in pleasant surroundings with views too garden were there was two resident squirrels playing under the tree
close to transport
very pleasant bar area where you could get a nice cold beer as we like in aus
pub acroos the road gets very busy at dinner time nice food also

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisherman5091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

"Dear Fisherman5091,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evauluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments; our team really appreciate your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in York.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel while visiting relatives for the weekend of 2nd to 4th August. We'd requested a late check-in and a travel cot at the booking stage for the hotel.

We arrived really late due to heavy traffic on the way up north and despite the extremely late arrival, David on the front desk was extremely polite, friendly and courteous. He confirmed the travel cot was already in the room before we went upstairs.

The room was a good size, spotless and well-appointed for our needs. The travel cot and accompanying blanket was also immaculate and perfect for my baby.

In the morning, the staff at breakfast were very friendly and even helped with some last minute present wrapping!

Absolutely nothing was too much trouble and we were very happy to have stayed here. We would be happy to stay here again when we are visiting our relatives.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 233 - this appeared to be towards the back of the hotel and overlooked fields. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

"Dear Sonia B,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. I can assure you that our team really appreciate your recognition that you have provided.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed twice in the last month with my wife and young family. Naturally, basic 'express' facilities, but very helpful and friendly staff. Location quite close to a park and ride to get into York. Toby restaurant next door handy too (but it can be busy).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear SPH2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All guest feedback is used constructively to continually improve our hotel services and ultimately guest satisfaction.

It was great to read this was a repeat visit and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. All the team appreciate your kind recognition which you have provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB/ HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our experience indicates that you can usually be happy with a Holiday Inn for good clean rooms comfortable beds and a good breakfast. This hotel did not disappoint with the addition of a helpful and attentive staff. A couple of words of warning.....it really is essential to have a car, the hotel is a considerable walk from the nearest bus stop (good exercise if you are fit), the bus service is a Coastline route and a reliable every 30 minutes.The taxi fare varied between £10.40 and nearly £12 for a single trip to or from the centre of York. The Hotel is set back from the nearest main road and so is quieter than our previous experience with Travel and Premier Lodges.

The staff were really attentive, helpful and pleasant, any problem being speedily and cheerfully resolved

The breakfast although described as "Continental" was gave far more choice than expected and contained several hot items (sausages, bacon, baked beans, toast)

Room Tip: It is set back from the main road and either side of the hotel is quieter than other similar style h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Steambuff,


Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and use it to help improve our existing hotel procedures with the aim to increase guest satisfaction as a whole

I am really pleased that as a hotel we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. I can assure you your comments are really appreciated by our staff who always enjoy recognition from our guests.
When you stay next please ask reception for advice regarding taxi’s as we have a set fare with a local taxi company and the fare is lower than what you paid. Many guests choose to book a taxi as it is convenient but as you mentioned guests are able to walk to the Coastliner bus stop and catch a bus into the City. This service runs every 30 minutes during the week and less frequent on Saturday and Sundays in keeping with other Bus services.

I am also delighted you enjoyed our free Express Start Breakfast; we do 3 hot options (Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Beans) and a selection of Continental items.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB/ HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed the weekend on a stag do in York. The first thing to note is that York is full of stag and hen do's. The twin room was comfortable, the shower is decent but there is no bath. The room has a strange bathroom door separation system so you can lock yourself in the toilet and somebody else can use the shower - which is a great idea, except that the shower and toilet are separated by frosted glass meaning that if you are in the shower you can see the outline of the person using the toilet and visa versa. Probably not too much of an issue for families or couples, but an issue with mates for sure!
I was unfortunately ill for the majority of the trip (not the hotels fault) and the bed was very comfortable given that I spent 20 hours a day in it. Also they have very good blackout curtains which was a real positive. However my real annoyance was that to buy a bottle of Fanta at the bar was £1.95. What a rip off!
The other oddity is that they only have one beer on tap in the bar and that is Staropramen.

I was not a fan of the breakfast, tiny horrible sausages and scrambled egg for a cooked meal. Hardly the hearty English breakfast I as expecting.

However all in all a decent hotel. The staff were friendly and we all enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Alex C,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us; I can assure you that our Bar prices are in line with other hotels and all our IHG Reward Club ® members are able to enjoy 10% discount on all beverages purchased at the Bar. This is free to join and we invite all guests to become an IHG Reward Club ® member on arrival so they can start earning points that never expire!

I sincerely hope you are feeling better now and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB/ HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Over the years the Holiday Inn Express brand has gradually improved itself in the face of competition and in response to customer feedback.

The York branch is no exception. The value for money (comapred with a recent stay at a Holiday Inn at twice the price) was exceptional. Friendlier staff, better rooms, good breakfast, and more TV channels to choose from.

Rooms are well maintained and the ensuite is good. Staff were very helpful in keeping a bottle of skimmed milk in the fridge for us to use at breakfast. The choice at this meal was good and the items were constantly topped up, with sides where the food was kept being constantly tidied and cleaned.

Well done! Would consider this one again especially as it is three minutes from the York Park and Ride and is in the right side of York to get to the Coast and the North Yorkshire Moors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy-pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear happy-pilgrim,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experiences on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is analysed constructively to help ensure hotel procedures are effective as possible and to improve guest satisfaction as a whole.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found our team to be friendly and helpful. Your kind comments are really appreciated on all levels and our team really value your recognition.

Guests sometimes choose to visit well known Seaside’s such as Bridlington, Scarborough or Whitby as they are only 1 hour drive away with the exception of Whitby. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Situated on the near outskirts of York. Comfortably furnished, clean, nicely decorated well proportioned room. (The only criticism was the very short clothes hanging rail of 12" - which was no problem for us but maybe for others.)
The staff went the extra mile and more to make us welcome - nothing was too much trouble.
The buffet style breakfast was comprehensive and delicious.
About a mile distant there is a "Park and Ride" frequent bus service to central York. Navigating and parking in this ancient city could be a problem for drivers. There is so much to see, it's awash with history.
I cannot praise this hotel and staff highly enough, we shall certainly revisit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Jelofts,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. I can assure you that our team really appreciate your recognition that you have provided.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,391 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £58 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing