We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A short hop from the park and ride, the hotel us well present clean and surprisingly quiet located next to a Toby inn. The welcome was warm bad friendly as were all the staff who did there very best to make you feel right at home. Room facilities good, though the complementary wifi was out of action during our stay due to swapping supplier we were told. Both beds in our twin room were very comfortable, and thanks holiday inn for providing decent chairs so you are not forced to always lie down to watch tv.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear PMCourt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a such a positive review on your recent experiences with us.

I am really pleased you received a warm and friendly welcome from our reception team. We know this is one of the most important aspects of a guests stay and always strive to ensure each guest is given a warm welcome. Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the lack of WIFI connection during your stay. We did have a short period of time due to lines undergoing maintenance however this has since been resolved.

Again thank you for your kind comments, your recognition is appreciated on all levels. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in near future.


Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    242
    101
    23
    13
See reviews for
157
233
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
notts uk
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here with friends for 2 nights ,the hotel is easy to find and in a good position,the staff are great and very friendly nothing is too much trouble!
rooms are spacious although the bed was slightly soft for us the hotel is in a great position being very near a park and ride so good for days out in york.
there is plenty of free parking aswell, next door is a toby carvery which is very handy for a meal drink etc you can also get free hot drinks from a machine in the bar area which is a nice touch
breakfast is in the "small" bar area which can be very busy at times when people all come down together which happened to us on both days! staff do their best but the area is just too small for the guests and some were waiting to get a table! it can be very haphazard as the food is not easy to get to due to the set up of the serving area which is again due to lack of space
this was our only gripe as we thought there was a good choice of food considering it is free! you also got a choice of some hot items the sausages were especially nice,all in all we enjoyed our stay and would return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaNottsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear SheilaNottsUK,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review on your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel.

The team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the recognition that you have provided, this serves as great motivation for us as a team.

Thank you for your comments relating to the Breakfast service and I'm pleased that overall it met your expectations. Breakfast can be busy during peak times and our breakfast team are always on hand to help make guest feel comfortable where possible.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future and thanks again for all your feedback.


Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

stayed at the HIE for 3 nights this week, great place it was peaceful, quiet and just what was needed, the room was fairly standard and had all the usual requirements for a short stay, the breakfast is a help yourself affair again it was fine with a good selection of breakfast food, i have to say sausages and beans for 3 days was bad but so good !!!!!!!! the staff were very helpful when we needed assistance, the lady on reception when we arrived was very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area and kept us right, all in all a very good experience, we had a great time

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Stevokelly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evauluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments; our team really appreciate your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in York.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in late September. The hotel was really easy to find being just off the A64 Ring Road. The receptionist was most helpful and check in was quick & easy.The room was pleasant and the bed very comfortable and the hotel itself clean with friendly staff. It also had a large settee in our room so watching TV at night was not uncomfortable. Being coeliac I found the use of individual toasters a bonus as it meant I could toast my own bread in my toast "pockets". The breakfast was quite adequate for my husband. I found the Toby Inn carvery next door very helpful in catering for my gluten free requirements. The thing to bear in mind is that you need a car to get around as the Park & Ride for York although nearby is not "walking distance" & the last bus back runs at 8.00pm so with fairly expensive parking in the city late nights may mean a taxi return. We would definitely use it again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Eileen M,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express York. All our feedback both positive and negative is analysed to help ensure hotel procedures are continually being improved.

Delighted to read of your experiences at our hotel; we aim to make the breakfast experience the way you have described. I am really pleased you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast before you adventured onwards.

Your positive feedback and recognition is really appreciated on all levels.

I hope you continue to use IHG Hotels for your travels and we look forward to welcoming you the next time you’re visiting York.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel as a base for our few days in York. Although outwith the city centre, there is a park and ride very close by which we made much use of and the hotel have a special deal with one of the taxi companies so it's a set rate into the city centre.

As we have found with any Holiday Inn Express we have stayed at, we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and of a decent size. No bath in the room, but a decent sized shower cubicle, and a good shower.

The only negative we found was the size of the breakfast area. There isn't too much room to maneuver about, especially at busy times. The fact that breakfast is included though is a bonus as we are happy with a plate of cereal (not something we want to pay about £8 at other hotel chains!)

Overall, a very pleasant stay, just not so handy for anyone travelling without a car. We didn't want the hassle of trying to drive in the centre of York, so ideal for us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F00tballFan1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear F00tballFan1903,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. I can assure you that our team really appreciate the recognition that you have provided.

There is a bus stop which is located only a 10-15 minute walk away if guests wanted to leave their car in our Car park and visit the centre;It does run regularly too. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

we stayed in the holiday inn express hotel from 6th to 9th sept it was a lovely hotel very clean, staff were so helpful really friendly, and we would definatley stay at this hotel again, toby carvery right next door which we found very helpful as we had no car was really pleasant stay

Room Tip: all rooms appeared fine to us and our friends x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Kerry h,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay.

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding our staff. They do work very hard and i can assure you they really appreciate the recognition you have provided.

Thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a large wedding party of all ages at the start if the month. Well positioned hotel for city centre and surrounding areas. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hotel was up to a good standard. The nearby restaurant was not very good, however, so we travelled to another one, which meant taxis and cars.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RogerWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear RogerWatson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experiences at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel.

I extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for using our hotel as a base for your travels to the Wedding venue. I apologise that you felt the Toby Carvery pub was not very good. This pub is a real asset to have on site and i will promptly handover your feedback to the Company/Management. We do have a number of restaurants close by and within a short drive and i'm pleased you found one of these to be more desirable for yourselves.

Thanks again for your positive comments and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,320 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
4.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing