We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room 233 at the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arrived for a long weekend. 2 adult 2 children - I child is now 16.The staff here are absolutely fabulous and could not fault them in any way.They are attentive and nothing is too much trouble.We were given room 233 .Well its just through a fire door near the stairs so be prepared to hear most of the other guests coming and going and the door closing.The room is too small for 3 adults it is really designed for 2 adults and a small child.The sofa bed folds out up to the side where you need to put all your stuff.Warning the sofa bed in here is naff - very thin mattress so you will feel all the slats below.The main bed is a bit lumpy too feels like its had its stuffing pounded out. Not being able to sleep I tried to get on the FREE WI-FI that is advertised everywhere however if there at a weekend when the hotel gets full wi-fi cant cope with all the connections so bye bye wi-fi.So rough night down to breakfast in the morning but again if the hotel is full be prepared to wait as the dining/doubles as bar in evening area gets very full .There is a limited selection continental and eggs ,sausage ,beans hash browns for hot.But plenty of cereal .Again the staff are very attentive ad polite.I have emailed the General Manager twice but never got a reply.The car park is small so get there early if you want to park.The Toby Carvery offers good wholesome food next door but after 3 days you may want to eat in the City as there is a large selection of very good eating places.A taxi into town is £9.00 (October 2013) and is better as parking in the city is expensive not mentioning the time it will take to drive in .If your walking its about 35 mins brisk walk.I would recommend you get a York Pass its cheaper for families and gets you into loads of places and lets you queue jump in some places.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before they put you in always handy if the hotel is not full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daldare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All guest feedback is used constructively to continually improve our hotel services and ultimately guest satisfaction.

Thank you for your positive comments relating to the team. All our team work incredibly hard each day to try and deliver a high level of service. Your kind comments are appreciated on all levels and will be passed onto the team.

I apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay and sorry that we did not meet your expectations in all areas. We were not made aware of your issue’s during your stay and must point out that if guests are having any problems/queries then they are able to contact our friendly reception team 24 hours a day. We endeavour to resolve all guests queries quickly and efficiently.

We have not received comments of this nature regarding room 233 in the past and will look into your concerns as guest satisfaction is of high importance to us. Our WIFI is in the process of being upgraded and once completed will be high speed. This should ensure guests are able surf the web a lot easier.

Again, thank you for your kind comments relating to the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Can`t fault the hotel or staff,but for the purpose of our visit it was too far out of the city.We used the park and ride,which is a great service but stops at 8.00 p.m.Parking charges in York are excessive.The Toby carvery next door is good value but there`s a limit to how many roast dinners one can eat over a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Frances E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Frances E,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. I can assure you that our team really appreciate the recognition that you have provided. There are alternative eating establishments available only a short drive away. Plus if you wished to stay in the Hotel and eat there are a number of Takeaway options that deliver to us. Our reception team are always on hand to help with directions and advise.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel on your travels and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

No car parking spaces available
Small rooms and even smaller shower rooms
Tiniest bar
Paper thin walls and you literally could hear everything
Breakfast was abysmal we arrived ready fir a hearty meal to be greeted by no hot food and hardly any bread to make tiast
We complain to the staff but

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All guest feedback is used constructively to continually improve our hotel services and ultimately guest satisfaction.

Apologies that we did not meet your expectations in all areas. We regards your parking difficulties; we share the adjoining car park with the Toby Carvery pub next door so should guests struggle to park on the Hotel side there are always spaces on the same site on the pub side. We was unaware of your difficulties and would have welcomed the opportunity to assist you. Thank you for the feedback relating to your breakfast experience ;however i do feel this misrepresents our breakfast service and must point out that our guests have always been able to enjoy hot options and in general are satisfied with the selection available.

Our rooms are of a great standard and we completed a full refurbishment on all bedrooms in January this Year. They are modern, warm and comfortable and should any guest have any problems or queries they are able to contact our friendly reception team 24 hours a day.

Thanks again for your valued feedback.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Booked HIE as we had air miles to use up. Clean and well presented. Breakfast very good. Nothing to fault particularly, although we were put in a room with twin beds when we asked for a double - after a long drive and in a hurry to meet a relative for dinner we didn't say anything so not sure if this could have been rectified.
We hadn't realised how far outside York the HIE is positioned. Driving in early evening took 20 minutes.
We stay in York quite a lot due to visiting our relative but found the HIE a little too far out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear elizabeth b,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evauluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

I am really pleased that we met your expectations as a hotel. If guests have any issues with their booking they are able to ask at reception 24 hours a day. We endeavor to resolve any issue quickly and efficiently.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in York.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Booked the hotel for 3 nights, 13/10/13, for a revisit to York....Having looked at the current car parking charges in York, I decided to book in here and take advantage of the local Park and Ride which was approx. 3/4 mile towards York....The hotel was exactly what we expected, spotless, good sized room, very comfy beds, good wall heater if you are feeling cold, TV, tea/coffee, & kettle, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast...Staff very helpful and approachable...Meals can be had at the adjoining Toby Carvery. Would we return to a Holiday Inn Express...well YES, if the others were as perfect as this....Thank you Holiday inn Express, N. York for a very pleasant 3 day vacation.

Room Tip: If all rooms matched Rm. 239, you will have no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langtoun-Wullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review regarding your recent experiences with us.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. I can assure you that our team really appreciate the recognition that you have provided.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This HIE is just on the outskirts of York, 2 minutes from the Park and Ride and on small strip shopping mall. We Received a very friendly warm welcome from the Duty Manager, all the staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. The room very clean and newly decorated with a comfy bed and large sofa for relaxing. The breakfast was "self service" with a nice variety of hot and cold food. Parking was good and it is next door to a Toby Carvery.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sela-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A short hop from the park and ride, the hotel us well present clean and surprisingly quiet located next to a Toby inn. The welcome was warm bad friendly as were all the staff who did there very best to make you feel right at home. Room facilities good, though the complementary wifi was out of action during our stay due to swapping supplier we were told. Both beds in our twin room were very comfortable, and thanks holiday inn for providing decent chairs so you are not forced to always lie down to watch tv.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear PMCourt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a such a positive review on your recent experiences with us.

I am really pleased you received a warm and friendly welcome from our reception team. We know this is one of the most important aspects of a guests stay and always strive to ensure each guest is given a warm welcome. Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the lack of WIFI connection during your stay. We did have a short period of time due to lines undergoing maintenance however this has since been resolved.

Again thank you for your kind comments, your recognition is appreciated on all levels. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in near future.


Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,380 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,140 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £57 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing