We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit and still just as good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Return visit and still just as good”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A year and a month after our previous stay, I stayed here again for a business trip to the University of York. I'm pleased to report that the hotel hasn't changed much.

The check-in was friendly and efficient, and I was even recognised from my previous visit! Now that's a welcome and a half.

Whereas last time I stayed in a room that was just about to be refurbished, this one (245) had clearly benefitted from a recent refurbishment. Modern decor and a spotlessly clean bathroom.

Breakfast was, as before, a buffet with a decent selection of hot and cold items and it did the job admirably. The Toby Carvery next door still does a £4 cooked breakfast if you don't get on with the hotel's (free) offering.

My previous review from Jan 2013 goes into a bit more detail but it's still a great example of a Holiday Inn Express with really friendly staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    242
    101
    23
    13
See reviews for
158
233
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Given the terrible sleep I had this review is lucky to get 4 stars, however this is a really nice hotel overall and if you are ok sleeping on the equivalent of a wobbly jelly which sags in the middle you will be fine. But maybe if you avoid room 238 you will be ok. The pillows were likewise uncomfortable but we brought our own anyway. There were 3 of us in the room and it was reasonably spacious. My daughter said the sofabed was very comfortable and un jelly-like and everything was very clean and modern. David on reception was charming. The inn next door does a carvery for £5.99, you really can't complain about that. We had no problem getting into York the next day, we were aware that it was a bit of a drive away as we had troubled ourselves to check distances prior to making the booking. In summary, if they sort their beds out I'd be happy to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veebee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear veebee54,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to ensure each guest is comfortable when staying with us however it can be challenging with beds/mattresses as every guest has there own bed preference and we sincerely understand this. Next time you stay with us please let a member of our reception team know if you are have any problems or queries as we are always happy to assist our guests.

Thank you for your feedback and the team and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Everything was spotlessly clean all the staff were brilliant breakfast was hot and lots to choose from.Only one problem the pillows were so uncomfortable I didn't sleep very much and my back ached all day! I would stay again but bring my own pillows.....

Room Tip: Not sure because we were in a ground floor room near reception and was very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squilly845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I've stayed here many times now and it is an excellent example of the H.I. Express brand. The staff are always friendly and efficient and exceptionally helpful. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. The breakfast is kept well stocked. It adjoins a popular large pub (Toby) which has a very big car park which means that guests at the hotel have plentiful parking. The hotel is close to a Park and Ride and shopping centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

1st time at this holiday Inn
We enjoyed every minute of our stay

All the staff were very pleasant & friendly especially Stuart if I was there as a undercover boss
Stuart would definitely get a call to head office
He was so helpful and very hard working and is a credit to the company

Well done keep up the good work

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MintcakeKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent 1 night here. I had telephoned and explained what I wanted for my husband, who is disabled. When we arrived the lady on the desk wasnt very polite and gave us a second floor room with no lift,but they did carry the case up. The room was very nice everything you could want. The next day a member of staff helped me done with the case and then my husband. I spoke to the man on the desk and he said that they had ground floor rooms available but my request hadnt been passed on from central reservations. The breakfast was pleasant.Even though we had the problem with the stairs we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marijoy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Recently stayed here on a business trip. From moment we checked in to time we checked out, the experience was fantastic .Check in was faultless with a personal and friendly welcome. Room was comfortable and exceptionally clean. Staff were polite, professional and always attentive to our needs. Breakfast was excellent and a great start to each day. Would not hesitate to return here. Manager should be proud of the service they provide. Fantastic,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPF197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,322 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
4.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing