We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could easily have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Only stayed one night. Reception staff were exceedingly efficient and very friendly. Breakfast in the morning more than adequate and set us up for a day shopping. However the room was a slight disappointment. I stayed in a room with my two teenage daughters. With a pullout bed in use, there was very little space in the room. The mattress on the double bed sagged in the middle leading to an uncomfortable night sleep. My daughter on the pullout bed also said her bed was really uncomfortable. We stayed in room 233, which on reading other reviews on the hotel had already been mentioned as having very little space and both beds being uncomfortable!! Obviously, despite management saying that this would be looked into, nothing has changed!! So location, staff, breakfast all were excellent but beds unfortunately were not. Please look into this as no doubt with a daughter at university in York we will be back but not in room 233!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Dawn H,

We greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel staff and hotel location. I have noted that you experienced inconvenience and discomfort with the condition of the bed during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies for this. We have taken note of your comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for one night 8th feb quick check in,room v.clean beds comfy and room spacious. Breakfast in morning good too,everything hot and plentyfull. Taxi from hotel to York cost £12.50 and £10.00 back at 1am probably just luck which company you get,would defiantly return if went to York again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tidstap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just got back from a very pleasant 2 night stay here over the valentines weekend. Very clean and comfortable room, the bed was comfy and was very impressed with the hairdryer provided which worked a treat! Was very very impressed with the helpful and pleasant staff who made our stay all the more pleasant. Breakfast was nice and don't know if we just got lucky but had no problems with seating at all. We also had a meal at the Toby Carvery next door which was very nice.

The only downsides was firstly the level of noise coming from other room doors slamming but inconsiderate guests isn't something the hotel can do anything about! The other thing that was a little misleading is the location of the hotel in relation to the park and ride. It does say that it is a 10 minute walk away and I'm sure it would be, if there was any pavement! The hotel is at the side of a very busy dual carriageway with no footpath so you have no choice but to drive or get a taxi to get anywhere. It wasn't actually a problem as the park and ride is very efficient (£2.70 for a return ticket) and the taxi service the hotel recommends is first rate (£8 one way). It certainly wouldn't disuade me from staying here again...would happilly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Even though we only paid 59 pound for one night the room was clean comfy warm breakfast was good and staff could not have been more helpfull if we had been in a hotel paying a lot more the staff at reception very pleasent all so the restaurant diner very clean no plates left on tables like some travel lodges

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed over at this hotel last Saturday night when myself, sister and sister-in-law were on a visit to York. It is very convenient for the local Park and Ride (about 2 mile down the road) and had very friendly staff. Our visit included free breakfast although the selection was quite poor, no porridge or bacon.

Room Tip: Taxi into York was about £7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0cket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only stayed one night after a day in York as it was convenient for today's visit to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, Buffet breakfast more than adequate and all in all good value for money. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davetick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed here just before Christmas 2013 for 1 night, after getting a great deal on price. The room was very clean, tidy, and more than adequate for our needs. The bed was comfortable, and there was a sofa and desk and chair too. The bathroom was bright and clean too.

The hotel is a little out of the centre of York, but we were driving, so it was fine for us. Our room was located at the back of the hotel so there was no noticeable noise at night. There is a small bar and lounge area within the hotel too, as well as a carvery pub in close proximity.

The addition of free breakfast included in the room rate was a nice extra. There was a very good choice of drinks, and a good choice of food, although not extensive (but considering it was free, this is not a complaint!) The staff were very friendly and were more than happy to provide us with a free wi-fi password.

I would definitely stay here again to visit York, as long as I had the use of a car to reach the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmag-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,401 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,151 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £53 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing