We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location, friendly staff at a reasonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed as a family for two nights in April 2014, where we found the hotel to meet all the standards you would expect from Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were of a good size, fully kitted out ( TV, Tea/Coffee facilities, hair dryer, etc, etc) with comfortable beds, and nice choice of a softer or firmer pillow. The inclusive light breakfast was great ( cereals, toast, pastries, and bonus of a small number of cooked foods too ). We found the staff to be extremely friendly, and helpful, any minor issues put right straight away quickly and efficiency ( sofa beds not make up on arrival).

The hotel is next door to a Toby Carvery pub, which offers not only walking convenience, but great value for money, particularly when you have three hungry teenagers.

The overall location is a great base to visit York and surrounding area.....and i can recommend the Yorvik museum experience and the Castle Museum, particularly for young teenagers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Simon K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is analysed to help ensure hotel services are continually reviewed and improved.

It was excellent to read your review; I am really pleased you found our rooms to meet your expectations and it is great to hear you enjoyed our free Express Start Breakfast. Apologies the Sofa bed was not ready on arrival but again I am pleased that we resolved this immediately for you and thank you for being understanding.

All the team work incredibly hard each day to try and provide a high level of service. It is feedback like this which helps motivate the team to continue to provide great service to guests. The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nites and 1st impressions was lovely
Reception lady was friendly and explained where everythin was
Room was spacious, spotless and clean
tea/coffee facilities available in the room
Brilliant power shower with dove body wash and in room hairdryer

1 negativity was the breakfast
Not much hot cooked to offer
Only sausages/scrambled eggs and beans- but NO bacon!
Continental items on offer was
White n wholemeal bread
5 choices of cereals
Mini muffins and cosants
Fruit juice dispenser and coffee
Latte,capp,mocha,americano
2 flavours of yogurts and few bowls of fresh fruit.
This is the negative point
The two breakfast waitess looked unhappy!
They were just stocking up and clearing tables not one of them said 'good morning' or tried to have any conversation with any guests,but
A young man wearing a suit(might b a manager) did come over for a little chat which was nice' other than that it was a pleasant stay
But a simple 'SMILE would have made this visit lot nicer during breakfast service!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Blondiechick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Blondiechick42,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All guest feedback is used constructively to continually improve our hotel services and ultimately guest satisfaction.

It was great to hear you were warmly welcomed by our reception team. Thank you for your comments relating to breakfast; our Express Start Breakfast consists of 3 hot options (Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Beans) plus a selection of continental items; they’re also free hot & cold beverages available during breakfast time. All products are selected from an IHG recommended supplier and we find their food to be of a good standard. This is free to all our guests when they choose to book with us!

Again, thank you for your kind feedback and I am pleased that your stay met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for one night and had one of the double rooms with a sofa bed. Our room was located on the upper floor. on the back of the building. It was a nice size and spotlessly clean. The staff are very accommodating and we received a very warm welcome on our arrival. We arrived a couple of hours before the designated check in time of 2pm. But there was a room available and 5 mins after arriving we had checked in and in our room. Later the evening we needed a Taxi into York and this was arranged for us again with out any fuss. The breakfast in the morning was basic but of a reasonable quality with plenty of choice and we both managed to fill ourselves up. Overall for what we paid we were both very happy.

Room Tip: The rooms located on the back were nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked here as our usual York hotels fully booked. Particularly disappointed with b'fast offering which was "included" We went next door to pay for a proper English B'fast - thank goodness it was next door !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Tony F,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry our breakfast service fell short of your expectations. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guests expectations and value your feedback. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

When I pulled up it's obviously an older holiday inn, its behind a Toby Carvery and wasn't really holding a lot of hope out looking at it from the outside, the road-side was sign was falling over and the car park area wasn't very welcoming could do with a bit landscaping and tidying up.

Really pleasantly surprised when going in, tidy hotel, and very impressed with room upgrades to new rooms.

ideally located next to Monks Cross Shopping with John Lewis, M&S and Sainsburys.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Staff were excellent, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were very impressed with the fine decorative order of the accommodation. We were advised that it had been refurbished around a year ago. The room had all that one would need for a comfortable stay.
What really delighted us was the staff from reception, to restaurant and housekeeping all pleasant people with a ready smile and word.
The location of the hotel is ideal as the Park and Ride is only half a mile distant and being close to the ring road the hotel is a good springboard for touring the wider area around York.
We considered that the room rate including breakfast was very competative.
We will certainly return to HIE York next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

You know what you are going to get with a Holiday Inn Express and this was very similar to others we've stayed in. It does look a bit dated but the rooms are clean and every one of the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was exactly the same as I've had elsewhere and absolutely fine.

The only issue I have with HIE is that their beds never seem as comfortable as Premier Inn and that their family rooms tend to have two doubles rather than a double and two singles I seem to get in Premier Inns. Still as it was only a short stay can't grumble too much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theblackjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,418 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £51 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing