We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money just outside the city, great with a baby!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights because we were attending a family funeral. The location convienently suited us but it was equally reasonably located for the city, lets face it, most people who stay here must have a car so getting where you want isn't an issue.
Hotel had the facilities you would expect from this price range and as with all Holiday Inn places you know exactly what your going to get.
Staff were very friendly.
The ground floor room was absolutley fine. Its the first time we had stayed away with our 7 month old son so we need to book a cot, so was pleasanly suprised when we arrived and found a nice clean travel cot, already assembled in the room; perfect. It was both warm and quite so suited us and our son safely crawled around the floor of the room.
The breakfast bar had everything you needed to start the day. The baby highchairs were good quality Mamas & Papas ones which again were well looked after.
We would happily go to this or any other Holiday Inn with our baby.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed here for two nights in August to visit York. The hotel is a no frills Holiday Inn however good value for York accomodation.

Its location is outside the city centre but about 1 mile from the park and ride busses which are ideal for easily getting into the city.
The room was clean and well furnished, continental breakfast is included with accomodation.

Next door to the hotel is a Toby Carvery pub offering good well priced food.

All in all would stay there again if visiting York.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0mmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I stayed for two nights whilst at a conference and found it very good for the nature of my visit. The staff were friendly, the rooms were very clean and the facilities were adequate. Breakfast was a continental buffet. The only complaint I would have is that I could detect the wireless network - not sure if that was me, or the network.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyd58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Holiday Inn Express, (Monks Cross) Malton Road York

We paid £55 per room including buffet breakfast for 2 adults and a 5 year old. Excellent value!

The Hotel is located on the outskirts of York next to a Toby Carvery close to Monks Cross Retail Outlet and the park and ride. You couldn’t walk directly to this as the road didn’t have a footpath. The hotel itself was 5-10 minutes drive from York city centre.

The staff were helpful and welcoming check in was at 3pm but we were able to enter our room a little earlier on this occasion. We were prepared to go around the retail park or take refreshment in the Toby Carvery next door if not!

Our room was located on the first floor (there is only the ground and first floor here)
And consisted of double bed, sofa bed, shower, WC, telephone, TV (pay per view films available) tea and coffee making facilities, basic storage and a desk / dressing table. The bathroom had soap, shampoo /body wash provided.

The hotel had vending machines and the staff had basic emergency toiletries that may be forgotten and some alcohol for sale also. (Not a bar)

Breakfast was buffet and was of good quality and variety. You were able to take to your room should you not wish to eat in the breakfast room. Breakfast comprised of fruit, cereal, yoghurt, toast, pastries, muffins, conserves / marmite / honey / chocolate spread. A wide selection of hot and cold beverages.

We wouldn’t hesitate to return to this hotel or try another in the chain our only negative points was the bed was a little too soft for our liking and the shower was a bit of a trickle but hey you can’t win them all!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsaybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed 2 w/e nights in mid July for UKP 75/85 room/night.
Location is 5+ km from Station but park & ride nearby (but beyond walking). Quiet.
Room small but clean by local standards.
Windows are blocked and open max 20 cm. Not for someone who prefers fresh asir.
Lousy matress, our backs hurt for 3 days.
Although large posters in the lobby advertise "power showers" ours did drizzle at best and this was not remedied although we complained.
Continental Breakfast included as usual and ok.
Parking was free.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The rooms were worth the money for - It cost me 90£ a night... The hotel provided free breakfast, and you could choose from a wide range of bakery items, toast, cornflakes, juice, coffee or tea. I prefer light breakfast instead of the common 'heavy' English breakfast. There was a carvery attached to the hotel where I used to take dinner from.
The location was also good, away from the loud dins of the city.

Making an outgoing call from the room phone was the only problem. You couldnt do it.

Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
Thank RejVar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed here 23rd of May as a hen party of 12 between 5 rooms. Luckily they gave us all the rooms in our own corridor as we may have been a little noisy!

The room I stayed in had one double and one sofabed- this was incredibly uncomfortable, you could feel the wooden planks beneath you and the head of the bed was lower than the foot. I had to sleep on the bed sideways at the end which was just the foam cushion.

One of the rooms had empty beer cans under the bed when we complained on check-out they said that we had put them there!

Also the rooms were quite expensive £110 if there were 3 in a room or £85 if there were 2. Usually these places charge by the room, not per person.

Breakfast was ok- nothing else to say really.

To get a cab in to the center of York will cost you about £10 and takes about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danilou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,341 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
3.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing