We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but very noisy - poor night's sleep on uncomfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
1 review
“Good location but very noisy - poor night's sleep on uncomfortable beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

Arrived at hotel at 1.00pm, turned away as rooms not available until 2.00pm. Rooms clean but bed very uncomfortable, like sleeping on a trampoline! sofa bed for children even worse. The night we stayed there were a lot of young people drunk and swearing in the hotel. They went out about 10.00 pm but when they arrived back at the hotel at 3.00 am in the morning the noise they made woke everyone up. There were a lot of families staying at the hotel and this was totally unacceptable. These individuals can only be described as selfish and ignorant. Terrible night's sleep. Buffet breakfast the next morning good but the girls in the breakfast room treat their guests as an inconvenience and they are not pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookworm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    232
    98
    23
    13
See reviews for
145
226
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed for only one night with 2 friends for New Years Eve as we were attending a dance in the area. We were welcomed by a helpful young man. Check in went smoothly. Bedrooms were nicely decorated, extremely clean, quite roomy , warm and set out very well. All staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful throughout our stay. We payed £85 for a double room with a light breakfast included. Breakfast was available between 7.30 - 11.30am in a small but nicely furnished dining area. It was self serve, but with staff on hand to help if necessary. Teas, coffees, juices, toast, crumpets, muffins, cereals, yoghurt, fruit etc was available and plentiful. We all felt that it was a very pleasant stay, well worth the money and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. There was also a Toby Carvery next door, an Asda 1-2 miles away and a nearby Park and Ride and the hotel was on a main road 3 miles from York. Quite a find I would say.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzywizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights because we were attending a family funeral. The location convienently suited us but it was equally reasonably located for the city, lets face it, most people who stay here must have a car so getting where you want isn't an issue.
Hotel had the facilities you would expect from this price range and as with all Holiday Inn places you know exactly what your going to get.
Staff were very friendly.
The ground floor room was absolutley fine. Its the first time we had stayed away with our 7 month old son so we need to book a cot, so was pleasanly suprised when we arrived and found a nice clean travel cot, already assembled in the room; perfect. It was both warm and quite so suited us and our son safely crawled around the floor of the room.
The breakfast bar had everything you needed to start the day. The baby highchairs were good quality Mamas & Papas ones which again were well looked after.
We would happily go to this or any other Holiday Inn with our baby.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed here for two nights in August to visit York. The hotel is a no frills Holiday Inn however good value for York accomodation.

Its location is outside the city centre but about 1 mile from the park and ride busses which are ideal for easily getting into the city.
The room was clean and well furnished, continental breakfast is included with accomodation.

Next door to the hotel is a Toby Carvery pub offering good well priced food.

All in all would stay there again if visiting York.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

I stayed for two nights whilst at a conference and found it very good for the nature of my visit. The staff were friendly, the rooms were very clean and the facilities were adequate. Breakfast was a continental buffet. The only complaint I would have is that I could detect the wireless network - not sure if that was me, or the network.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyd58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Holiday Inn Express, (Monks Cross) Malton Road York

We paid £55 per room including buffet breakfast for 2 adults and a 5 year old. Excellent value!

The Hotel is located on the outskirts of York next to a Toby Carvery close to Monks Cross Retail Outlet and the park and ride. You couldn’t walk directly to this as the road didn’t have a footpath. The hotel itself was 5-10 minutes drive from York city centre.

The staff were helpful and welcoming check in was at 3pm but we were able to enter our room a little earlier on this occasion. We were prepared to go around the retail park or take refreshment in the Toby Carvery next door if not!

Our room was located on the first floor (there is only the ground and first floor here)
And consisted of double bed, sofa bed, shower, WC, telephone, TV (pay per view films available) tea and coffee making facilities, basic storage and a desk / dressing table. The bathroom had soap, shampoo /body wash provided.

The hotel had vending machines and the staff had basic emergency toiletries that may be forgotten and some alcohol for sale also. (Not a bar)

Breakfast was buffet and was of good quality and variety. You were able to take to your room should you not wish to eat in the breakfast room. Breakfast comprised of fruit, cereal, yoghurt, toast, pastries, muffins, conserves / marmite / honey / chocolate spread. A wide selection of hot and cold beverages.

We wouldn’t hesitate to return to this hotel or try another in the chain our only negative points was the bed was a little too soft for our liking and the shower was a bit of a trickle but hey you can’t win them all!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsaybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed 2 w/e nights in mid July for UKP 75/85 room/night.
Location is 5+ km from Station but park & ride nearby (but beyond walking). Quiet.
Room small but clean by local standards.
Windows are blocked and open max 20 cm. Not for someone who prefers fresh asir.
Lousy matress, our backs hurt for 3 days.
Although large posters in the lobby advertise "power showers" ours did drizzle at best and this was not remedied although we complained.
Continental Breakfast included as usual and ok.
Parking was free.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oilygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing