We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly, could use some attention.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Well located on a main road (set back so quiet) quite near to a Park n Ride. There is a Toby on site serving good, basic food at reasonable prices. Staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was a decent size, clean and fresh. The bathroom was spotless, however the shower produced only tepid water, despite turning the controls every which way, and I would have preferred the option of a bath. Breakfast was presented along a tight counter against a wall. It was quite difficult to reach anything without poking someone in the eye and then you finished the job off when you paused to bend for the cutlery stored beneath by blacking their other eye with your backside. The toaster wins an award in the slow toaster competition and you win an award if you can work the milk machine first go. There was a reasonable selection of pastries, yoghurts and cereals, plus scrambled eggs, sausage and beans, although the quality was quite poor. At the right price and having the option of staying for one night over the weekend (not all York hotels offer single-night stays), I would stay again, though it wouldn't be my first choice. Wifi is available at a cost - I'm waiting for hotels to start providing this as a standard facility in the 21st century.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincolnshireposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

Tepid water (cool enough to make showering uncomfortable) at 11.30pm- dangerously hot by 06.45am, though, so presumably they'd just run out of water. The drains stank so badly that it was unpleasant to put your head over the washbasin. The window in room 225 had a sticker warning you to be careful because it opens wide - no it doesn't, it was jammed shut resulting in a room which was too warm to sleep in.

Staggered downstairs after a lousy night for the complimentary breakfast. At 07.15 that consisted of a loaf of white bread, and hot water for tea and coffee - there was plastic milk and sugar, but if you prefer sweetener, remember to take your own - it's a service step too far for this hotel. Finally - no one around to feedback to on reception at that time of the morning - even though "breakfast" is offered from 06.30.

Thank God I was only there one night - first time I've stayed in a hotel with good TripAdvisor reviews which turned out to be poor. God knows what the current management are up to, but this place literally stinks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This appears to be a converted Days Inn. The rooms were standard for Holiday Inn Express, and were clean. The drains could do with some attention though.
Once again I wonder if the new cooked breakfast is worth having? The scrambled egg I suspect was of an instant variety and the sausages not very good. harly any variety of cereal and only grapefruit.
A great position for travelling into York as right by a park and ride. Also next door to a good value pub.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerhair54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Spent two nights here a couple of weeks ago. Postcode takes you to a housing estate - they know it has the wrong postcode but don't let you know. Once finally there, they were clueless on reception, room smelt of mould - found all around the window frame - disgusting. You couldn't even turn over in bed without it creaking and was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Toilet roll holder had middle missing so a minute quantity of toilet roll on a roll was hanging precariously from the broken edge bit and ended up on the floor within minutes. Television was set to come on on a channel advertising chargeable films which on one of the screens that flashed up showed very clear pictures from scenes of the X-rated films they wanted you to pay to view - luckily my children weren't with us otherwise it could have been very awkward. The breakfast was OK but all in all, an awful place that I shall certainly not be staying in again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

stayed for four nights would recommend this to anyone,2 min drive to park and ride never had any problems with noise, breakfast was good only fault i found was breakfast bar was to small if it was busy toasters were in the middle so people would stand about getting in the way

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonsdale83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Spent two nights at this hotel, after pricing it against the local Premier Inn / Travelodge competition. Great value because of the included breakfast - worked out at around £20 cheaper overall than the others. As other reviewers have said, ideally located, close to a Park & Ride; 15 minutes into the city at 9am, barely 5 minutes on the return journey after 6pm. Very friendly welcome, room clean with a spacious shower - and plentiful hot water in our case. Breakfast excellent, the buffet area clean and fresh with a good choice of cereals, croissants, rolls, bread for toasting, fresh fruit and even a variety of speciality teas. Free ("Independent ") newspaper also appreciated.
Toby Carvery next door very busy with a lot of local accents in eveidence, alaways a good sign, food there very acceptable after a busy day around the city.
Overall, this hotel did the business for us - a clean and comforable place to sleep whilst being very handy for transport links.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faircityrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

stayed here last weekend after getting bog off deal. location good for york about 3 miles away, the parking in york is expensive and hard to find. use the park and ride at monks cross.
good retail park near by with 24 hour asda for goodies, breakfast really good and reception was excellent on checking in.
only disappointment was no bath and the shower was very cold!!
everything else was great.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,401 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,150 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £53 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing