We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent menu and specials board in prime York Centre location”

The Hole In The Wall
Ranked #115 of 1,001 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Came to York for my birthday weekend and this pub was right near our B and B and the Minster and in a beautiful street located with lots of other pubs and restaurants, so decided to pop in to see if we could get a bite to eat when we arrived in York after 8pm on a Friday evening.

It was really busy so we could tell it must be very popular. We decided to sit down near the bar and wait for a table to become free. The pub is bigger than you think with another part to it at the back of the bar with more seats and the toilets upstairs.

We managed to find a table and decided to have two courses each with drinks. I was quite taken with the selection off the specials board. The food was excellent and food and drinks are reasonably priced. We both liked it so much we moved to sit at the front of the pub after our meals and stayed till closing time.

The staff are really friendly and very welcoming and the pub is lovely and cosy with a real fire that makes it all the more warmer atmosphere.

We even went back for a couple of drinks the next day on the Saturday evening which was nice.

We are going back to York inbetween Christmas and New Year and will definately go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sa6Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Front Office Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Sa6Jo

Hope you enjoyed your birthday visit to York? Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an excellent review on Tripadvisor, it is very much appreciated.

Look forward to seeing you again in a few weeks.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

We went down to York for the St Nickolas Fair on the 19th November, we always have lunch at the pub, but especially this trip was on a Sunday. The Sunday Lunch menu was excellent, my mum had the child's size dinner roast lamb, nice size potion with all the trimmings, I had the roast turkey. The roast turkey was very tasty, with all the trimmings. The puddings were lovely, we both had the jam rolly pudding with custard, nice and warm on a cold day, I would recommend this pub to all my friends. If you have a meal on a Sunday afternoon go before 1.00pm as it gets very busy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Front Office Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five bubble review, and also for recommending the pub to others, it is very much appreciated. I am pleased to hear you all enjoyed your visit. I will pass your kind comments on.

Best wishes and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Always a stop for me whilst in York.This visit was whilst on a day trip . The two friends with me had never visited before but were very impressed with the food. In many visits here I've never had a disappointing meal,and a busy Saturday on the run up to Christmas was no different . The food and service were very good,especially considering the place was getting busier and busier . The staff definitely deserve to be commended for being able to stay so pleasant and efficient whilst the place was so busy.

Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Public Relations Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Andrea C

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Its nice to hear you are a frequent visitor and have recommended us to your friends, it is very much appreciated. I will pas your kind comments onto the team.

Best wishes and see you again soosn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We came across this pub by chance after walking around York. We peeped through the window and saw the cosy, inviting decor too good to miss. We were greeted with a warm welcome from a very smiley waitress. Shown some seats free as it was quite busy (7.30pm on a Friday night kind of busy) food came very swiftly... we ordered pork and stuffing in a Yorkshire pudding and a steak and ale pie. Both were wholesome, hearty and tasty. We will certainly be returning on our next York adventure.

Thank RoxRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Public Relations Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi RoxRit

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It great to hear you had a lovely time at the Hole in the Wall. I will pass your review on to the team.

Best wishes and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Whilst staying in York we came across this lovely atmospheric pub we walked passed several times and noticed how busy it was day or night we decided to call in for a afternoon drink which was very nice the staff polite and helpful running a very busy bar with menus that offer meal deals as in a Curry night and Grill night,also a Music and a Quiz night we decided to go that evening and both of us enjoyed a Chicken Tikka Masala and a Beef Madras we were offered half Chips half rice served with a Naan bread poppadom and mango chutney,Very tasty indeed good prices and quick service in this must visit little Gem.

Thank Tinknmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Public Relations Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Tinknmoo

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review of the Hole in the Wall, it is very much appreciated. I will pass your kind comments on to the team.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hole In The Wall also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing