We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential”

D'Oyly's Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'Oyly's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #132 of 192 York B&B and Inns
durham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great potential”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Nice tearoom with indoor and outdoor seating to suit the weather. Light bites on the menu although not everything is available all day. This time I went for the afternoon tea which was a bit of a mixed bag. Nice sandwich and cake, but let down by the scrawniest side salad I've ever had, two tiny lettuce leaves and a quarter of a cherry tomato. The jam and cream scone was good (lovely chunky strawberry jam and clotted cream) but the scone itself was "dainty" i.e. the smallest one of its species I've been served anywhere. Two bites would have seen it off.

With attention to portion sizes this tearoom would be lovely as the setting is great, the place welcoming, and I've found that there aren't actually that many decent tearooms on the outskirts of York.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heughhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Struggled to find somewhere Baer York when the racing is on then we stumbled on this place. Quiet location, fantastic food and hosts that really go out of their way to make it so good. Would definitely go back and recommend to anyone !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joncon611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We were holiday at York. I found the visityorkshire.com they were recommend this popular tea room but well hidden outskirt country village. We absolutely love this place. We had lunch here before head back to Liverpool. will come back again and must stays. Must go early all tables were full. They have beautiful garden where you can sit outside. Advice to used a sat nav this place very outskirt.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realfoodcritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

'Discovered' this fabulous eatery while on a visit to the nearby church and cemetery on a history trail. The ridiculous thing being, we live less than five miles away but had no prior knowledge of its existence out on a country lane leading into a sleepy village!

Fortunate to be enjoying a rare afternoon of sun, we chose to sit out in the well kept garden - although we were lucky to get a place as all but one table was already taken, as was the case indoors. The waitresses were polite and attentive and we soon had cold drinks while ready to order. The menu was varied and plentiful - but following a visit we had made to a Marco Pierre White restaurant the week before; and to the famous Hazlewood Castle, the very evening before - we had started a tradition of ordering the 'afternoon tea' specials. In comparison to the more famous competition, D'Oyly's price was more pleasing but we joked that the quantity and quality of food would not be the same. How wrong we were.

A great selection of sandwiches for the three of us to choose and share; fresh scones (although sadly neither jam nor clotted cream were made on the premises and came out of a jar); and a good selection of cakes and pastries to end with. All washed down with fresh coffee or tea (in both cases, a top up or at least an extra pot with hot water would have been good.).

Very enjoyable and unexpected stop off on our afternoon, and one we would highly recommend to tourists, cyclists and day-trippers - in fact looking at some of the food on the menu, we'll be trying out the breakfasts and lunches some time too!!

Good service contributes to repeat custom and new custom via word of mouth. I can't believe we hadn't heard of this place before, but it seems they don't need to advertise too heavily to their town neighbours as they were busy enough already... well done D'Oylys!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

It was our first visit to the Tea Room and the afternoon tea was very good and fair value. The service was excellent and the setting just right for a working farm. Hard to find anything to fault!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winchman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the world
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights, all I can say is "there is no place better"
The hosts are lovely and so helpful. Rooms are spotless and beautiful. The price is excellent. Try it you won't be disapointed.

Room Tip: Any room they are all lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunoandwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Spent a wonderful brunch in the beautiful tea room where we were treated to freshly cooked fayre.

The food, of which we had plenty was delicious and the tea perfect which really pleased my husband as it came with a pot of hot water too!

We had a ploughmans lunch and the meat and cheese were delicious, the eggs with my rarebit were glorious!

The scones, clotted cream and jam were the best that I've tasted outside of Devon and the service was impeccable!

This is a real treat and I cannot wait for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclair74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
13.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
12.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,077 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.0 mi away
Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
14.7 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Oyly's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Oyly's Bed and Breakfast

Property: D'Oyly's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bolton Percy, York YO23 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing