We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbakan

Barbakan
Ranked #14 of 844 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I love this place, so cosy and food is amazing!
the staff is always smily and nice, absolutely recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zariram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    154
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serves you a meal, not a pretentious piece of art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We visited this restaurant for lunch over the weekend. It was our first visit and although York was empty, (everyone was off enjoying weddings, racehorses and sunny Summer BBQs), this lovely restaurant was still pulling the customers in.

The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The dishes were true meals - filling and creative without being pretentious - and they were also great value for money. The restaurant interior was intimate, filled with old photos of rural Poland, plaits of dried garlic, bottles of firewater and other curious objects for you to gaze at whilst you wait and chat.

I had the beetroot gazpacho, which was a refreshing Summer soup from the specials menu. It was wonderful, very tasty with lovely flavours and quite filling too. I had a bean salad as my main. Barbican's salads offer a change from the usual chicken caesar that most restaurants bang out as their 'healthy' option. This was a filling, balanced salad and it wasn't drowned in flavour-killing dressing either, which I hate. My partner had mixed pierogis as a starter as he couldn't decide between these or the stew for the main, so the waitress suggested having both and the chef was flexible enough to oblige. Both were amazing. The bread that was served with our meal had been baked that morning. And the cakes!!! Hats off to the chef, we've been to Poland and our meal was just as good, if not better, than some of the places we tried in Warsaw and Lublin.

Barbican was a true find and we shall definitely be going back again to try their evening menu. I would recommend Barbakan for solo diners, dinner dates, couples, small groups and business lunchers. It's a peaceful, intimate restaurant but I'm sure very well behaved children would be welcome too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatGirlFromSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“FAULTLESS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Redeemed a LivingSocial deal here this morning
The staff ( Anna ) could not have been more friendly or welcoming
The ( English ) breakfast was beautifully cooked with garlic mushrooms and black pudding.
I know you can't really make a mess of an English breakfast but it was freshly cooked and very tasty. We looked at the menu for a further visit as the decor and ambience is very welcoming and will be returning soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Honest, fresh and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I was very pleasantly surprised with Barbakan today. Good range of Polish regional dishes of the menu and at a fantastic price for the portion sizes. In the end I went for the Hungarian potato cakes and received a huge plateful for a fiver! Definite value for money. I will be returning soon for an evening meal.

Helpful?
Thank vokildir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
475 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe in back street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Found this place, when looking for simple lunch on a Sunday. Wonderful set up, with fascinating photos, pictures and art. Shame that it was virtually empty. Waitress was very friendly and helpful. We had salads and soft drinks. Each served with home made bread - still warm. Beautiful food and nice small portions, so not over-facing. Great place and we would definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbakan also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Barbakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing