We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Ranked #4 of 58 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My girlfriend and I are traveling around the uk and we stayed at the fort Boutique Hostel. It is by far the most amazing hostel we have stayed in it has even been better than any hotel. Yvonne was so helpful with places to see and things to do. We booked a superior 6 sleeper, it was an apartment with living room and own kitchen, people dream of having an partment like this dorm for a home. The rest of the hostel was amazing with the art work and facilities. Hands down you would be mad not to stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Wow that's a great review, thank you so much.
All the staff at The Fort love it but its always fantastic to hear our guests feel the same.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hostel is very central. Perfect for doing tourism or enjoying the York´s nightlife.
There´s a pub just below the hostel. From the bedroom where I was in we couldn´t hear anything and we slept good but maybe from other bedrooms it is too noisy.
Staff are very kindly and helpful.
Very clean, nice atmosphere, cute bedrooms. Youthful atmosphere

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bianca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are bang in the centre of York amongst the lively streets that is known at the Latin Quarter so weekends and holidays can be noisy depending on where you are sleeping, however we do provide ear plugs for those of you that need them.
Apart from an odd few most people are like yourself and aren't effected or don't really mind as due to activities during the day or an evening out manage to sleep through the noise quite easily :)
Thank you for the review and hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed in York for one night as I made my way up to Scotland from London and was pleasantly surprised with this hostel. The space is very modern and extremely clean. Yvonne, one of the caretakers, is very friendly and really goes out of her way to make sure you're having a great time! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank your for your comments and I'll make sure Yvonne our Hostel Manager is aware of your feedback. She really does care about all our guests and goes above and beyond to make their stay the best it can possibly be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A great hostel, best I've ever stayed in. Friendly, helpful staff who are willing to give advice or just have a chat. The hostel is modern and funky with great facilities including comfy beds and furniture. They have included many added extras for free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiLauren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we really do strive to ensure that all our guests have a great stay with us so when we get reviews such as yours saying we are the best hostel you have ever stayed in we are thrilled.
Thank you again for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

While I was in York on business, I was caught short for a place to stay and I was so delighted that I stumbled upon The Fort Boutique Hostel. The check in was swift and hassle free expedited by friendly and efficient staff. On first glance I couldn't believe just how homely it looked. The room was spotless and the decor was light and refreshing. The beds were wooden and so comfortable, compared to the more industrial feel you sometimes get in other hostels. The lounge and TV room were spacious and the facilities provided were excellent. I would heartily recommend this place and feel it would accommodate any person looking for a comfortable, great value stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkJones831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the facilities that The Fort has to offer.
Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have just stayed in the Photo Room for 2 nights and it was very nice, the chap who checked us in was very friendly and the Fort was in a fantastic location...we will return :) Kennedys bar next door was fab too, gorgeous door with 20% off for guests of the Fort!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review, Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Fort and that you also made the most of the little perks we offer as a guest with us.
It would be great if you have time to put feedback on Kennedys trip advisor too. We really value all comments made and its great for upcoming guests to see your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a fantastic hen weekend staying at the Fort. Perfect location (though plan your parking carefully if you intend to drive). Facilities faultless - comfy bed 'pods' in the dorms with individual lights and sockets, brilliant wet rooms with fantastic showers, hairdryers etc, and fully equipped kitchen with loads of room to eat and socialise. All spotlessly clean and well maintained. Best of all - the most helpful staff you could ever come across!
Very noisy, as previous reviewers have mentioned, but not a problem if you're not expecting much sleep anyway! Special mention to Emma... if you're lucky enough to be looked after by her, you're bound to have a great stay. Went out of her way to look after us throughout. Never met such a helpful member of staff in all my travels! Thank you once again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessSirisena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review, hope all of the party arrived home safely and in one piece. Good luck to the bride on her big day and I'm sure you all give her a fantastic weekend full of memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.5 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Boutique Hostel

Address: 1 Little Stonegate, York YO1 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range: £33 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fort Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort is York’s first boutique hostel. Nestled within the city walls just off the historic Stonegate, the luxurious accommodation comprises of five private, themed rooms each offering a wet room, flat screen TV and Wi-Fi, a large common room with wide screen TV, plus seven mixed dormitory’s perfect for group bookings, couples & travellers. As The Fort is located conveniently in the heart of York access is by foot, we are located approximately 10 minutes from the train station. The main high street shops, bars and restaurants are right on the doorstep and we are just a stone throw away from York’s main attractions including the York Minster, Jorvik Viking Museum and York Castle Museum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Fort Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing